Quote:
Originally Posted by Eastshire
You think that an odd question? Seriously, there is no reason that returns to the floor and touches the floor necessarily have identical meanings. They may, but consider the possiblility that returns to the floor means more than the big toe has regained contact with the floor.
The main point of the airborne shooter rule is safety, extending airborne shooter protection to both feet on the floor is not, IMO, inconsitent with the rules as written or intended.
|
It's not like you can't call a foul after he hits the floor. If the shot falls, the penalty is more severe if you call it on the rebound. I've never once had a coach complain when I call this after the shot (not that this is the final arbiter of whether it's a good call, but the shooter is adequately protected if you call this a rebounding foul instead.)
That said, my eyes aren't so good. It's likely if his big toe is all that's touched before he gets hit; I didn't see the toe hit and I'm calling a shooting foul. However, I'm not waiting for him to "gather himself," or for both feet to land, before I release him of his airborne shooter status.