The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 28, 2001, 12:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by Dennis Flannery
I agree with you on the NFHS and NCAA women, about the ball going to B after the "T" is shot. For NCAA men you have to go to the point of interuption, that is when the "T" is called. Well in the above mentioned play the ball was in the air on a shot, and since there is no team control at this point on the shot, you need to go to the arrow for point of interuption. Does that make sence to you?
Yes, it does make sense now that I think about it but I'm
not sure it's fair (I know, I know) or within the intent
of the rules. I'm gonna ask some questions about this
one.

Quote:
Originally posted by Jerry Baldwin
In college, new rule last year, I think, if the slap
caused the ball to come off the rim or out of the cylinder, you can count the basket ("The Bobby Knight Rule").
Jerry, the "Bobby Knight Rule" relates to BI, not
backboard striking, so there's never a T involved (well, not since that well known first time!)

NCAA 4-4-2:

"Basket interference also occurs when a movabe basket ring
is pulled down by a player so that it contacts the ball
before the ring returns to its original position."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1