The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   another rules question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/29676-another-rules-question.html)

Jimgolf Tue Nov 28, 2006 11:25am

This might qualify as the most confusing thread of all time.

The OP was just asking if after a made basket the thrower can inbound the ball by just tapping the still inbounds ball to his teammate or if he has to take it out of bounds with him and pass it. Somehow palming the ball and backcourt status came into question.

My head is about to explode! :eek:

All_Heart Tue Nov 28, 2006 11:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by All_Heart
After a made basket B1 gets the ball but doesn't go directly OOB to make the throw-in. He is waiting for his team to get set up and thinks that the count doesn't start until he goes OOB. Little does he know that I've started my count and that he is 3 seconds away from a violation. This player is holding a live ball inbounds. Does this player have player control? If A1 fouls B1 what do we have? If B1 fouls A1 are we shooting bonus free throws?

Okay what if the same thing happens as stated above but instead of fouling, A1 hits the ball out of B1's hands? Is this the same as if B1 was OOB but holding the ball inbounds?

Nevadaref Tue Nov 28, 2006 11:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by All_Heart
Okay what if the same thing happens as stated above but instead of fouling, A1 hits the ball out of B1's hands? Is the same as if B1 was OOB but holding the ball inbounds?

In that case here is what I would call.

RULE 10, SECTION 3 PLAYER TECHNICAL
A player shall not:...

ART. 6 . . . Delay the game by acts such as:
a. Preventing the ball from being made live promptly or from being put in play.

bronco Tue Nov 28, 2006 02:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
In that case here is what I would call.

RULE 10, SECTION 3 PLAYER TECHNICAL
A player shall not:...

ART. 6 . . . Delay the game by acts such as:
a. Preventing the ball from being made live promptly or from being put in play.

Why wouldn't it be like the situation when the inbounder holds the ball over the boundary line and gets the ball stolen. This is legal, I believe, as long as there is no contact on the inbounder. The only difference is that the inbounder's body is actually inbounds at the time in this situation.

Note that I do not think this is right, but I can see an argument for it being legal.

just another ref Tue Nov 28, 2006 04:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
In that case here is what I would call.

RULE 10, SECTION 3 PLAYER TECHNICAL
A player shall not:...

ART. 6 . . . Delay the game by acts such as:
a. Preventing the ball from being made live promptly or from being put in play.

In this situation the ball is put in play by a throw-in, and the throw-in has already started. So how can this be the call?

Nevadaref Tue Nov 28, 2006 05:43pm

Since the nonscoring team is awarded the ball OOB for a throw-in, they must be allowed to gather the ball and take it OOB uncontested.

Ruling anything else would make a farce of 7-4-3.

The scoring team cannot be permitted to steal the ball prior to the opponent obtaining the ball and the position where it is awarded to them by rule.

just another ref Wed Nov 29, 2006 12:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref

here is what I would call.

RULE 10, SECTION 3 PLAYER TECHNICAL
A player shall not:...

ART. 6 . . . Delay the game by acts such as:
a. Preventing the ball from being made live promptly or from being put in play.


Ruling anything else would make a farce of 7-4-3.

What about the old, blow the whistle and say, "Hey, kid, you can't do that,"
and give them a fresh 5 second count. Wouldn't that be better?

I see this as similar to 7-6-3 Note: The thrower shall have a minimum of
3 feet horizontally....... If the court is not marked.....an imaginary restraining line shall be imposed.......


You wouldn't call a T when the kid crossed this imaginary line, would you?
It's not something we should make a habit of, but sometimes you have to explain things, especially things like this which are not really specified in the book in the first place.

Nevadaref Wed Nov 29, 2006 05:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
What about the old, blow the whistle and say, "Hey, kid, you can't do that,"
and give them a fresh 5 second count. Wouldn't that be better?

I see this as similar to 7-6-3 Note: The thrower shall have a minimum of
3 feet horizontally....... If the court is not marked.....an imaginary restraining line shall be imposed.......


You wouldn't call a T when the kid crossed this imaginary line, would you?
It's not something we should make a habit of, but sometimes you have to explain things, especially things like this which are not really specified in the book in the first place.

It depends upon the game situation, but I would likely not warn for knocking the ball away from the inbounder to be. I may well consider it to be unsporting. In any event, I must say that I would likely assess a T.

As for the restraining line: I would call a team delay of game warning for breaking the plane. Why? Because 1-2-2 says this, " This restraining line becomes the boundary line during a throw-in on that side or end, as in 7-6. It continues to be the boundary until the ball crosses the line."

Adam Wed Nov 29, 2006 09:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by All_Heart
Okay what if the same thing happens as stated above but instead of fouling, A1 hits the ball out of B1's hands? Is this the same as if B1 was OOB but holding the ball inbounds?

Delay of game warning on Team A for interfering with the ball following a made basket.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1