The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   IHSA NFHS Part I Stats (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/29598-ihsa-nfhs-part-i-stats.html)

cropduster Thu Nov 23, 2006 09:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by lukealex
68) A player who has been withdrawn may not re-enter before the next opportunity to substitute after the ball becomes live following his/her replacement.


True, time must run off clock before the player can re-enter the game.

The answer to this is false. You are right in that the clock must start before he can re-enter. But, the question says the ball becomes live following his/her replacement. At this point all that has happened is the ball has been handed to the player OOB.

barryb

Raymond Thu Nov 23, 2006 01:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by cropduster
The answer to this is false. You are right in that the clock must start before he can re-enter. But, the question says the ball becomes live following his/her replacement. At this point all that has happened is the ball has been handed to the player OOB.

barryb

The answer is true. The player may not re-enter before the next opportunity to substitute after the ball becomes live following his/her replacement. Additionally time must run off the clock.

Jurassic Referee Thu Nov 23, 2006 01:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
The answer is true. The player may not re-enter before the next opportunity to substitute after the ball becomes live following his/her replacement. <font color = red>Additionally time must run off the clock.</font>

Your "additionally" quote is what makes the answer <b>FALSE</b>. The "additionally" doesn't show up in the original question. The way that the original question is worded, the correct answer is <b>FALSE</b>.

Of course, I also do have the advantage of being in being in possession of the FED exam answer sheet.:D

barry b correct.

Raymond Thu Nov 23, 2006 01:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Your "additionally" quote is what makes the answer <b>FALSE</b>. The "additionally" doesn't show up in the original question. The way that the original question is worded, the correct answer is <b>FALSE</b>.

Of course, I also do have the advantage of being in being in possession of the FED exam answer sheet.:D

barry b correct.

I guess this is why this question was answered incorrectly more than any other question. ;)

I believe if Mr. AnnoyingGrammarGuy were grading the test the FED exam answer sheet would read 'T' b/c all the elements of the scenario are true. :p

bob jenkins Thu Nov 23, 2006 05:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
I guess this is why this question was answered incorrectly more than any other question. ;)

I believe if Mr. AnnoyingGrammarGuy were grading the test the FED exam answer sheet would read 'T' b/c all the elements of the scenario are true. :p

I disagree. There often can be an "opportunity to substitute after the ball becomes live" that will not allow removed A1 to re-enter the game.

Scrapper1 Thu Nov 23, 2006 05:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
There often can be an "opportunity to substitute after the ball becomes live" that will not allow removed A1 to re-enter the game.

I'm not sure that matters. Is the sub allowed to "re-enter before the next opportunity to substitute after the ball becomes live following his/her replacement"?

Can he re-enter before the next opportunity to sub, even if the ball has become live? No.

The question states that he may not do so. Therefore, the statement is true.

The fact that he may also not be allowed to sub after the next opportunity to substitute after the ball becomes live is immaterial.

just another ref Fri Nov 24, 2006 12:36am

Re: #68
 
Fact: The liquor store opens at noon.

True or false: We may not buy liquor at this store until after 11 a.m.

This is true.

If it read: We may not buy liquor until immediately after 11 a.m., it would be false.

There is not sufficient information in #68 to be sure what their intentions were. Is this an oversight in the wording of the question, or is it an attempt to test one's knowledge of this rule and one's ability to think at the same time. If the answer sheet says false, apparently it is the former.

Raymond Fri Nov 24, 2006 01:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
I disagree. There often can be an "opportunity to substitute after the ball becomes live" that will not allow removed A1 to re-enter the game.

It seems the intent of the question was to address "after the clock has properly started" portion of the rule. A more effective question would have been :

A player may re-enter after the next opportunity to substitute after the ball becomes live following his/her replacement.

Then the question could be answered false b/c the additional element of properly starting the clock has not been met.

IMO, just a very poorly written question which in turn ended up confusing 27% of the testees.

Kelvin green Sat Nov 25, 2006 12:33pm

Question #6 is an obvious violation. AS already discussed

Question #31 Seems like the officials did not look up or know their definition...what did I miss here?

Question #67 We had some discussion but a substitute does not have to stay in the game and play; if a sub goes in he can be replaced in the dead ball period with another player, he just cant go back in until clock runs off..

Question #68 already discussed, needs time to come off the clock

Question #89 Why would they toss this question??? The rule is clear that the clock can NEVER be started by hitting a non jumper. 6-3-6 states that the ball must be touched by one or both jumpers. If the ball hits the floor without being touched it has to be retossed...Until it is touched by a jumper a non jumper cannot break the the circle so how on earth would a non jumper get the ball without it not hitting the floor and not being touched by a jumper??? (nice straight toss by the official)

Raymond Tue Dec 12, 2006 05:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
The answer is true. The player may not re-enter before the next opportunity to substitute after the ball becomes live following his/her replacement. Additionally time must run off the clock.

Will now answer using my new 'may/shall' formula.

A player who has been withdrawn is not permitted to re-enter before the next opportunity to substitute after the ball becomes live following his/her replacement.

Answer = True

There, this is still a poorly written question and explains why I got it wrong. :D

HawkeyeCubP Tue Dec 12, 2006 05:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Will now answer using my new 'may/shall' formula.

A player who has been withdrawn is not permitted to enter before the next opportunity to substitute after the ball becomes live following his/her replacement.

Answer = True

There this is still a poorly written question and explains why I got it wrong. :D

Obviously! :) Oh man - now you're going to get me into trouble with people harassing me about any and all hypotheticals that could occur during a game, and whether or not they would be true or false. Like, "Alright HawkeyeCubP, riddlemethis: A1 may sprout wings and fly up and down the court all period long. This is legal play."

...and just to give my from the hip ruling on that, as long as A1 last touched the court inbounds to start the period, I'm letting it go. :D

Mark Dexter Tue Dec 12, 2006 06:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
I believe if Mr. AnnoyingGrammarGuy were grading the test the FED exam answer sheet would read 'T' b/c all the elements of the scenario are true. :p

Mr. Annoying Grammar Guy would check the test for ambiguous phrasing before sending it off to the printer.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1