The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   IHSA NFHS Part I Stats (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/29598-ihsa-nfhs-part-i-stats.html)

tjones1 Tue Nov 21, 2006 03:38pm

IHSA NFHS Part I Stats
 
Here are the stats for IL. I always enjoy looking at these and then going over the exam again. If at least 85% of the officials don't answer the question correctly, they flag those questions. This year there were 4 questions that at least 85% of the officials didn't answer correctly and only 1 question that was thrown out.

6) 84% got this correct. My thinking is they were probably thinking when a shot lodges between the backboard and the rim.

31) 83% got this correct. Not sure about this one.

67) 79% got this correct. Not sure about this one either.

68) 73% got this correct. Missed the idea of no time coming off the clock.

And, #89 was completely thrown out of the grading.


Anyways, looks like the requests for the exam and answers are probably over for another year.

Scrapper1 Tue Nov 21, 2006 05:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1
6) 84% got this correct. My thinking is they were probably thinking when a shot lodges between the backboard and the rim.

31) 83% got this correct. Not sure about this one.

67) 79% got this correct. Not sure about this one either.

68) 73% got this correct. Missed the idea of no time coming off the clock.

Are you telling us how many got them correct? Or how many missed them?

tjones1 Tue Nov 21, 2006 11:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Are you telling us how many got them correct? Or how many missed them?

Yes, the percentage is how many officials answered the question correctly. Anything under 85% they (IHSA) flag.

lukealex Wed Nov 22, 2006 08:47am

What are these questions? Could make for some good discussion.

Post the questions now, then the answers in a week or so.

JRutledge Wed Nov 22, 2006 10:43am

Alternating Possession

6) It is alternating-possession throw-in when A1's throw-in lodges on the basket support.

Free Throws

31) When the ball is bounced to the free thrower, it is at his or her disposal when released by the official.

Substitutions

67) A substitute who legally enters the game during a dead-ball period may not be withdrawn during the same dead-ball period.

68) A player who has been withdrawn may not re-enter before the next opportunity to substitute after the ball becomes live following his/her replacement.

Peace

lukealex Wed Nov 22, 2006 11:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge
Alternating Possession

6) It is alternating-possession throw-in when A1's throw-in lodges on the basket support.

Basket support means OOB
Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge
Free Throws

31) When the ball is bounced to the free thrower, it is at his or her disposal when released by the official.

I would say A1 must have the ball
Quote:

Substitutions

67) A substitute who legally enters the game during a dead-ball period may not be withdrawn during the same dead-ball period.
Correct, substitute can be replaced.
Quote:

68) A player who has been withdrawn may not re-enter before the next opportunity to substitute after the ball becomes live following his/her replacement.
True, time must run off clock before the player can re-enter the game.
Quote:


Peace
If someone has rules references to prove or disprove me, please post

tjones1 Wed Nov 22, 2006 12:40pm

This is the question they threw out.

89) On a jump ball, the clock starts when the ball is touched by a non-jumper.

Jurassic Referee Wed Nov 22, 2006 02:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by lukealex
Basket support means OOB

If someone has rules references to prove or disprove me, please post

You're disproved.:)

The basket support is in-bounds. The support holds up the basket ring. NFHS rule 1-11-1. If the ball lodges on the support during a throw-in, it's a violation as per rule 9-2-8, but it's not an OOB violation.

just another ref Wed Nov 22, 2006 02:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
You're disproved.:)

The basket support is in-bounds. The support holds up the basket ring. NFHS rule 2-11-1. If the ball lodges on the support during a throw-in, it's a violation as per rule 9-2-8, but it's not an OOB violation.


First, the basket is described in rule 1-10 & 1-11, not 2-11.
1-10-1: Each basket shall consist of a single metal ring.......its flange and braces...... The word support is not used.

1-11-1: .....basket ring shall be.....attached to the backboard/support system......

The supports are what hold up the backboard, are they not?

7-1-2 The ball is out of bounds when it touches..... c. the supports or back of the backboard.

9-2-8 does not use the word support.

BayStateRef Wed Nov 22, 2006 02:55pm

No. The basket support really is out of bounds.

1-9-2, 1-9-3 and 1-9-4 describe it.

The "flange" is the part that holds the rim to the backboard, and it is covered under 9-2-8.

M&M Guy Wed Nov 22, 2006 02:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
You're disproved.:)

The basket support is in-bounds. The support holds up the basket ring. NFHS rule 2-11-1. If the ball lodges on the support during a throw-in, it's a violation as per rule 9-2-8, but it's not an OOB violation.

I'm guessing lukealex was thinking about the actual supports, guy wires (gal wires?), etc., which are considered OOB.

If you see it hit them.

Within a certain amount of time.

Um...never mind.

From one turkey to another: Happy Thanksgiving! :D

just another ref Wed Nov 22, 2006 03:07pm

It is alternating-possession throw-in when A1's throw-in lodges on the basket support.

This an example of a deceptive or poorly worded question, is it not? Do the words "basket support" appear anywhere in any book? Yes, the flange and the braces "support" the "basket," but the word support is not used in the description. 1-10-1

Jurassic Referee Wed Nov 22, 2006 03:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
It is alternating-possession throw-in when A1's throw-in lodges on the basket support.

That's completely wrong, as I stated before. Rule 9-2-8+ PENALTY says that it's a violation. The FED answer key sheet also shows the answer as being false, and references R9-2-8 as the reason for being so. It could be worded better but it ain't that hard to figure out what they're getting at.

Firther, even if the throw-in did hit a support <b>behind</b> the basket, you still could <b>never</b> have an AP either. That's a straight violation also, as per R9-2-2..

lukealex Wed Nov 22, 2006 04:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
I'm guessing lukealex was thinking about the actual supports, guy wires (gal wires?), etc., which are considered OOB.

If you see it hit them.

Within a certain amount of time.

Um...never mind.

From one turkey to another: Happy Thanksgiving! :D

I was thinking about the supports, braces, pipes, whatever the book specifies, but those are what I was thinking of.

Thank you, I stand corrected (sort of) :cool:

just another ref Wed Nov 22, 2006 07:24pm

Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
It is alternating-possession throw-in when A1's throw-in lodges on the basket support.



Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
That's completely wrong, as I stated before.

What's completely wrong? I copied the question.
Everyone agrees, I think, that this question is false. The next issue, which some of us seem to be confused about is exactly what a "basket support" is.
You said the basket support is in-bounds. I find nothing in the rule book that supports this statement.

cropduster Thu Nov 23, 2006 09:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by lukealex
68) A player who has been withdrawn may not re-enter before the next opportunity to substitute after the ball becomes live following his/her replacement.


True, time must run off clock before the player can re-enter the game.

The answer to this is false. You are right in that the clock must start before he can re-enter. But, the question says the ball becomes live following his/her replacement. At this point all that has happened is the ball has been handed to the player OOB.

barryb

Raymond Thu Nov 23, 2006 01:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by cropduster
The answer to this is false. You are right in that the clock must start before he can re-enter. But, the question says the ball becomes live following his/her replacement. At this point all that has happened is the ball has been handed to the player OOB.

barryb

The answer is true. The player may not re-enter before the next opportunity to substitute after the ball becomes live following his/her replacement. Additionally time must run off the clock.

Jurassic Referee Thu Nov 23, 2006 01:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
The answer is true. The player may not re-enter before the next opportunity to substitute after the ball becomes live following his/her replacement. <font color = red>Additionally time must run off the clock.</font>

Your "additionally" quote is what makes the answer <b>FALSE</b>. The "additionally" doesn't show up in the original question. The way that the original question is worded, the correct answer is <b>FALSE</b>.

Of course, I also do have the advantage of being in being in possession of the FED exam answer sheet.:D

barry b correct.

Raymond Thu Nov 23, 2006 01:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Your "additionally" quote is what makes the answer <b>FALSE</b>. The "additionally" doesn't show up in the original question. The way that the original question is worded, the correct answer is <b>FALSE</b>.

Of course, I also do have the advantage of being in being in possession of the FED exam answer sheet.:D

barry b correct.

I guess this is why this question was answered incorrectly more than any other question. ;)

I believe if Mr. AnnoyingGrammarGuy were grading the test the FED exam answer sheet would read 'T' b/c all the elements of the scenario are true. :p

bob jenkins Thu Nov 23, 2006 05:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
I guess this is why this question was answered incorrectly more than any other question. ;)

I believe if Mr. AnnoyingGrammarGuy were grading the test the FED exam answer sheet would read 'T' b/c all the elements of the scenario are true. :p

I disagree. There often can be an "opportunity to substitute after the ball becomes live" that will not allow removed A1 to re-enter the game.

Scrapper1 Thu Nov 23, 2006 05:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
There often can be an "opportunity to substitute after the ball becomes live" that will not allow removed A1 to re-enter the game.

I'm not sure that matters. Is the sub allowed to "re-enter before the next opportunity to substitute after the ball becomes live following his/her replacement"?

Can he re-enter before the next opportunity to sub, even if the ball has become live? No.

The question states that he may not do so. Therefore, the statement is true.

The fact that he may also not be allowed to sub after the next opportunity to substitute after the ball becomes live is immaterial.

just another ref Fri Nov 24, 2006 12:36am

Re: #68
 
Fact: The liquor store opens at noon.

True or false: We may not buy liquor at this store until after 11 a.m.

This is true.

If it read: We may not buy liquor until immediately after 11 a.m., it would be false.

There is not sufficient information in #68 to be sure what their intentions were. Is this an oversight in the wording of the question, or is it an attempt to test one's knowledge of this rule and one's ability to think at the same time. If the answer sheet says false, apparently it is the former.

Raymond Fri Nov 24, 2006 01:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
I disagree. There often can be an "opportunity to substitute after the ball becomes live" that will not allow removed A1 to re-enter the game.

It seems the intent of the question was to address "after the clock has properly started" portion of the rule. A more effective question would have been :

A player may re-enter after the next opportunity to substitute after the ball becomes live following his/her replacement.

Then the question could be answered false b/c the additional element of properly starting the clock has not been met.

IMO, just a very poorly written question which in turn ended up confusing 27% of the testees.

Kelvin green Sat Nov 25, 2006 12:33pm

Question #6 is an obvious violation. AS already discussed

Question #31 Seems like the officials did not look up or know their definition...what did I miss here?

Question #67 We had some discussion but a substitute does not have to stay in the game and play; if a sub goes in he can be replaced in the dead ball period with another player, he just cant go back in until clock runs off..

Question #68 already discussed, needs time to come off the clock

Question #89 Why would they toss this question??? The rule is clear that the clock can NEVER be started by hitting a non jumper. 6-3-6 states that the ball must be touched by one or both jumpers. If the ball hits the floor without being touched it has to be retossed...Until it is touched by a jumper a non jumper cannot break the the circle so how on earth would a non jumper get the ball without it not hitting the floor and not being touched by a jumper??? (nice straight toss by the official)

Raymond Tue Dec 12, 2006 05:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
The answer is true. The player may not re-enter before the next opportunity to substitute after the ball becomes live following his/her replacement. Additionally time must run off the clock.

Will now answer using my new 'may/shall' formula.

A player who has been withdrawn is not permitted to re-enter before the next opportunity to substitute after the ball becomes live following his/her replacement.

Answer = True

There, this is still a poorly written question and explains why I got it wrong. :D

HawkeyeCubP Tue Dec 12, 2006 05:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Will now answer using my new 'may/shall' formula.

A player who has been withdrawn is not permitted to enter before the next opportunity to substitute after the ball becomes live following his/her replacement.

Answer = True

There this is still a poorly written question and explains why I got it wrong. :D

Obviously! :) Oh man - now you're going to get me into trouble with people harassing me about any and all hypotheticals that could occur during a game, and whether or not they would be true or false. Like, "Alright HawkeyeCubP, riddlemethis: A1 may sprout wings and fly up and down the court all period long. This is legal play."

...and just to give my from the hip ruling on that, as long as A1 last touched the court inbounds to start the period, I'm letting it go. :D

Mark Dexter Tue Dec 12, 2006 06:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
I believe if Mr. AnnoyingGrammarGuy were grading the test the FED exam answer sheet would read 'T' b/c all the elements of the scenario are true. :p

Mr. Annoying Grammar Guy would check the test for ambiguous phrasing before sending it off to the printer.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1