The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 21, 2006, 03:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,109
Quote:
Originally Posted by BEAR42
This situation came up in a game I officiated last night.
Team "A" is to inbound the ball after a time out. Team "A" also wants to sub in a player. The official score keeper notices the sub's number is not in the score book (her name in, wrong number listed). We assess a technical for the wrong number. My question is , does Team "A" retain possession or does Team "B" be awarded the ball?
This was a girls varsity basketball game(HIGH SCHOOL)(UIL)

Did the sub actually become a player before this was brought to your attention?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 21, 2006, 03:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larks
Did the sub actually become a player before this was brought to your attention?
This was the question I had.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 21, 2006, 04:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 9
Sub did come in to play.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 21, 2006, 04:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 9
She had not been in the game prior to being substituted at this point.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 21, 2006, 04:35pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larks
Did the sub actually become a player before this was brought to your attention?
Given that the ball had yet to be inbounded by team A following the dead ball during which Team A attempted the substitution; I think it's safe to say they caught it in time to assess the T.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 21, 2006, 04:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 518
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Given that the ball had yet to be inbounded by team A following the dead ball during which Team A attempted the substitution; I think it's safe to say they caught it in time to assess the T.
Are you saying if the player had been playing and the number was then found to be illegal, then the technical could not be called?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 21, 2006, 06:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by All_Heart
Are you saying if the player had been playing and the number was then found to be illegal, then the technical could not be called?

yes -- this is something that has to be addressed when it happens -- once it happens its to late to penalize.

like when a team has 6 players on the court -- then you see one player go and sit down and now you count and say "hey there were 6" to late. you have to assess this when the penatly occurs. smart coach will call a timeout ASAP and get his players into a huddle asap and get it fixed.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 21, 2006, 06:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee
yes -- this is something that has to be addressed when it happens -- once it happens its to late to penalize.

like when a team has 6 players on the court -- then you see one player go and sit down and now you count and say "hey there were 6" to late. you have to assess this when the penatly occurs. smart coach will call a timeout ASAP and get his players into a huddle asap and get it fixed.
Incorrect. This is a book error, not an illegal number. It required a change in the book and is penalized as soon as it is discovered even if the player is already in the game.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 22, 2006, 10:17am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
Incorrect. This is a book error, not an illegal number. It required a change in the book and is penalized as soon as it is discovered even if the player is already in the game.
Case book play 3.2.2SitC.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 21, 2006, 06:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 9
The Player Had Not Been In The Game.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 21, 2006, 07:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,109
Quote:
Originally Posted by BEAR42
The Player Had Not Been In The Game.
How about preventative officiating?

Ok - so a team member was not in the book? Did the ball become live? Was this team member beckoned onto the floor?

If your answers are no to all the above - Why not give the coach the option to withdraw the sub or take the T to get her in? JV and lower - thats how I'd handle it for sure.

Correct me if I am wrong but doesn't the the rule deal with players not being in the book. She's not a player until I beckon her on to the floor or the ball becomes live right?

?!?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 21, 2006, 09:00pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Larks, I might do this at JH level and below; if I thought of it. But I think by JV, we can reasonably expect the coaches to know what they're doing with the book.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 21, 2006, 09:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wherever the Army sends me this year
Posts: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larks
How about preventative officiating?


Correct me if I am wrong but doesn't the the rule deal with players not being in the book. She's not a player until I beckon her on to the floor or the ball becomes live right?

?!?
That's correct. If the coach of team A realizes it and calls her back to the bench before she is beckoned then there is no penalty, but once she "legally enters the court" she is a player and the penalty is enforced.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1