The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Have A ? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/29597-have.html)

Adam Tue Nov 21, 2006 06:54pm

Thanks, Cameron. You just saved me the effort of posting this when I check my rule book at home. :)

Adam

Larks Tue Nov 21, 2006 07:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BEAR42
The Player Had Not Been In The Game.

How about preventative officiating?

Ok - so a team member was not in the book? Did the ball become live? Was this team member beckoned onto the floor?

If your answers are no to all the above - Why not give the coach the option to withdraw the sub or take the T to get her in? JV and lower - thats how I'd handle it for sure.

Correct me if I am wrong but doesn't the the rule deal with players not being in the book. She's not a player until I beckon her on to the floor or the ball becomes live right?

?!?

Adam Tue Nov 21, 2006 09:00pm

Larks, I might do this at JH level and below; if I thought of it. But I think by JV, we can reasonably expect the coaches to know what they're doing with the book.

johnnyrao Tue Nov 21, 2006 09:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Larks
How about preventative officiating?


Correct me if I am wrong but doesn't the the rule deal with players not being in the book. She's not a player until I beckon her on to the floor or the ball becomes live right?

?!?

That's correct. If the coach of team A realizes it and calls her back to the bench before she is beckoned then there is no penalty, but once she "legally enters the court" she is a player and the penalty is enforced.

Larks Tue Nov 21, 2006 09:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BEAR42
Team "A" is to inbound the ball after a time out. Team "A" also wants to sub in a player. The official score keeper notices the sub's number is not in the score book

Hold up - Re-thinking this.....When did A6 become a player here? If she checked in prior to the time out, then lined up to participate in the throw in, I think we have to consider her a player. We would consider her a player vs. bench pers. if we called a T on her for say profanity in this case wouldn't we?

My thought process was more along the lines of if she never got player status....in that case, I let the coach have the option to buy her in or wait.

Agree?

M&M Guy Tue Nov 21, 2006 10:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Larks
Hold up - Re-thinking this.....When did A6 become a player here? If she checked in prior to the time out, then lined up to participate in the throw in, I think we have to consider her a player. We would consider her a player vs. bench pers. if we called a T on her for say profanity in this case wouldn't we?

My thought process was more along the lines of if she never got player status....in that case, I let the coach have the option to buy her in or wait.

Agree?

That's what I was thinking - if she's at the table and hasn't been waved onto the court, we can give the coach the option of putting her back on the bench, or let her on with the T to correct the book. I was going under the impression the player went up to the table, and as she was waiting, the table figured out her number was wrong in the book.

Jurassic Referee Wed Nov 22, 2006 10:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust
Incorrect. This is a book error, not an illegal number. It required a change in the book and is penalized as soon as it is discovered even if the player is already in the game.

Case book play 3.2.2SitC.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1