The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Layup (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/29551-layup.html)

bradfordwilkins Sun Nov 19, 2006 05:33pm

This is a trick question? Why isn't the lead on top of this if its directly under the basket?

But if I have to make a call -- I've got a block here on B1 -- last I checked on the floor is not LGP. The question is do I count the basket and I think I'd have to see it to make a judgement.

Scrapper1 Sun Nov 19, 2006 05:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dan_ref
No, it's not a block/charge.

But the AR is clear - B1 has taken an illegal position.

But the offensive player clearly intentionally stepped on an opponent. I don't think I'm allowing that to happen. So I don't think the question of whether B1 had legal guarding position is relevant.

bradfordwilkins Sun Nov 19, 2006 05:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
But the offensive player clearly intentionally stepped on an opponent. I don't think I'm allowing that to happen. So I don't think the question of whether B1 had legal guarding position is relevant.

From the description, the player made a move to the basket stepping into their normal lay-up pattern, the only difference is in order to get to the basket, they had to pass through this player in an illegal guarding position.

Had this occurred outside the 3 point line and A2 turned around to go make sure they step on the player, yes I agree with you we've got an IF or FF. But on the way to the basket for a layup, I think the rules pretty clearly state we've got a block here.

Dan_ref Sun Nov 19, 2006 06:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
But the offensive player clearly intentionally stepped on an opponent. I don't think I'm allowing that to happen.

Why not?

It would have been a block according to the AR if he fell down.

Jurassic Referee Sun Nov 19, 2006 07:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bradfordwilkins

But if I have to make a call -- I've got a block here on B1 -- last I checked on the floor is not LGP.

If a player with the ball pushed off a player beside him with an elbow, would you call a block too because the defender didn't have LGP?

Jurassic Referee Sun Nov 19, 2006 08:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dan_ref
Why not?

It would have been a block according to the AR if he fell down.

Why not?

If A2 falls down, he's been put at a disadvantage. If A2 jumps off of the defender though, he's gaining an advantage.

rainmaker Sun Nov 19, 2006 08:15pm

I've been gone all day, so I haven't checked in till now.

JR -- I said T because of A2 using something to illegally get taller. Then I called it flagrant because it was an opponent. I thought about live-ball contact, but the contact wasn't the basis for the technical. I'd be fine with a flagrant personal, though. Either way, the kid sits...

Dan -- I don't do NCAA, so I don't need to fully understand your citations, but I'm curious. I don't think that the illegal position of B1 is at issue. If A2 tripped, I'd see this as a block by the NCAA rules. But if A2 deliberately reaches his foot out and steps on B1, I don't see how you could penalize for a block. It's gotta be a foul on A2, even if it's not PC or charge. It's just flagrant, isn't it?

Dan_ref Sun Nov 19, 2006 08:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Why not?

If A2 falls down, he's been put at a disadvantage. If A2 jumps off of the defender though, he's gaining an advantage.

Maybe, maybe not.

I notice you didn't say A2 gained an illegal advantage.

Dan_ref Sun Nov 19, 2006 08:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
I've been gone all day, so I haven't checked in till now.

JR -- I said T because of A2 using something to illegally get taller.

Fed or ncaa rule please?
Quote:

Dan -- I don't do NCAA, so I don't need to fully understand your citations, but I'm curious. I don't think that the illegal position of B1 is at issue. If A2 tripped, I'd see this as a block by the NCAA rules. But if A2 deliberately reaches his foot out and steps on B1, I don't see how you could penalize for a block. It's gotta be a foul on A2, even if it's not PC or charge. It's just flagrant, isn't it?
Why?

Jurassic Referee Sun Nov 19, 2006 08:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker

JR -- I said T because of A2 using something to illegally get taller. Then I called it flagrant because it was an opponent. I thought about live-ball contact, but the contact wasn't the basis for the technical. I'd be fine with a flagrant personal, though. Either way, the kid sits...

Juulie, as per NFHS rule 10-3-7(d), you can only call a technical foul if they climb on a <b>teammate</b>. The rule doesn't apply to climbing on an <b>opponent</b>. Illegal contact with an <b>opponent</b> during a live ball is covered under "personal foul" in rule 4-19-1.

That was my point.

PS- the NCAA rule reads exactly the same way iirc.

Jurassic Referee Sun Nov 19, 2006 08:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dan_ref

I notice you didn't say A2 gained an illegal advantage.

I noticed that you haven't answered my question yet either as to whether it would be traveling if A2 picked up his pivot foot, and then brought it down on B2 and then jumped off of B2.

Dan_ref Sun Nov 19, 2006 08:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
I noticed that you haven't answered my question yet either as to whether it would be traveling if A2 picked up his pivot foot, and then brought it down on B2 and then jumped off of B2.

Can't get nuthin by you. You're right, I didn't answer it. But that aint what happened. Now go start your own thread, m'kay?

Jurassic Referee Sun Nov 19, 2006 08:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dan_ref

I notice you didn't say A2 gained an illegal advantage.

Can't get nuthin' by you. You're right. I didn't say it. :D

Dan_ref Sun Nov 19, 2006 08:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Can't get nuthin' by you. You're right. I didn't say it. :D

Can't get nuthin' by none of us! :D

(what's the question again?)

Jurassic Referee Sun Nov 19, 2006 09:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dan_ref
what's the question again?

Where's Chuck?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1