The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 14, 2006, 11:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wherever the Army sends me this year
Posts: 267
I'm confused about two things:

1) Can someone explain what rule allows them to take the points off the board and administer the throw-in to the visitors. I am not saying this is illogical but what allows this by rule.

2) If you were driving in the snow, why would you ever think there was a swim meet going on? The kids in Wisconsin must be pretty tough.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 14, 2006, 11:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
If they score in the wrong basket, stop play, count the basket for whoever it counts for, then put the ball in play correctly. If you don't do this, you will have a screw up like the one mentioned. Of course, this means you realized it on the first score...

Incidentally, I saw a swim meet going on last year during just about the coldest weekend of the year here in Texas. Of course, that could me 37 degrees with a wind chill of 31. Hint: a nautatorium was used, though I'm sure it was still pretty chilly in there if you were wet.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 15, 2006, 03:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Aggie
If they score in the wrong basket, stop play, count the basket for whoever it counts for, then put the ball in play correctly. If you don't do this, you will have a screw up like the one mentioned. Of course, this means you realized it on the first score...
That is the correct procedure and is detailed in the Simplified & Illustrated book.

4-5-2 Number 4 is confused and dunks the ball in B's basket. The covering official stops play after the dunk and credits the two points to Team B. Team A will then be given the ball for a throw-in from anywhere outside the end line.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 15, 2006, 12:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 769
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyrao
I'm confused about two things:

1) Can someone explain what rule allows them to take the points off the board and administer the throw-in to the visitors. I am not saying this is illogical but what allows this by rule.
I don't have current books, they are at Kinkos getting bound together. The only ones I could easily find are 2002-3. It's in CB, 10.1.8. Basically, it says if A erroneously takes the ball out after a goal or a TO and subsequently scores, you do the following:

a. Charge Team A with a Tech
b. Cancel the goal
c. Cancel any common fouls and any non-flagrant fouls against the shooter
d. Put consumed time back on clock

It goes on further to say that if there is no doubt the throw-in was a result of confusion, follow the entire procedure above except that no technical foul is charged.

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyrao
2) If you were driving in the snow, why would you ever think there was a swim meet going on? The kids in Wisconsin must be pretty tough.
They swim really fast to get out of the cold.

Mregor
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies...
Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 15, 2006, 03:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyrao
I'm confused about two things:

1) Can someone explain what rule allows them to take the points off the board and administer the throw-in to the visitors. I am not saying this is illogical but what allows this by rule.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mregor
I don't have current books, they are at Kinkos getting bound together. The only ones I could easily find are 2002-3. It's in CB, 10.1.8. Basically, it says if A erroneously takes the ball out after a goal or a TO and subsequently scores, you do the following:

a. Charge Team A with a Tech
b. Cancel the goal
c. Cancel any common fouls and any non-flagrant fouls against the shooter
d. Put consumed time back on clock

It goes on further to say that if there is no doubt the throw-in was a result of confusion, follow the entire procedure above except that no technical foul is charged.
Mregor
Someone else will have to tell us when this Case Book ruling was adopted as I only have books going back to the 2001-2002 season. (I foolishly tossed the previous ones out before I discovered this forum.) This ruling is in that year's book and the wording is still the same today.

A SPECIFIC UNSPORTING ACT
10.1.8 SITUATION: Immediately following a goal or free throw by Team A, A1 inbounds the ball to A2 and A2 subsequently throws the ball through A's basket. RULING: The following procedure has been adopted to handle this specific situation if it is recognized before the opponents gain control or before the next throw-in begins: (a) charge Team A with a technical foul; (b) cancel the field goal; (c) cancel any common foul(s) committed and any nonflagrant foul against A2 in the act of shooting; and (d) put “consumed” time back on the clock. COMMENT: If there is no doubt the throw-in was a result of confusion, the entire procedure would be followed except no technical foul would be charged. This procedure shall not be used in any other throw-in situation in which a mistake allows the wrong team to inbound the ball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:22am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1