The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 14, 2006, 09:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 769
This doesn't have a lot to do with the original post but it's sort of relevant.

Several years ago, boys varsity, towards the end of the season. First place in conference @ last place but nieghboring rivals. 2-man. We arrive an hour early in the snow and parking lot is packed. We figure there is a swim meet or something else going on. Wrong, the house is packed and they are all there for the basketball game. Band, 2 chearleader squads, and extra bleachers on the auxillary court that runs perpendicular to the main court. The gym is so loud we can't even hear each other's whistle. Cheers going back and forth from "conference champs" to "over rated". Nothing nasty, just good clean fun. This is what high school athletics is all about! When we go to the table for introductions, the scorer lines up his pencils saying he is going to need all of them for this game. Great. I'm U and off the tip, A goes in for a layup and B commits a hard foul. I call the foul and go to T. As I'm standing there I look up at the clock and see 2 seconds have gone off clock. I do some quick math and figure we should be down to 1 player before the end of the quarter. From there on out, it was a great game. I think we made it through the first half with a 3 pt. game and fouls were 5-6 at the end of the half.

Towards the end of the 3rd quarter, about 10 seconds left, the visitor has a spot throw in on the backcourt endline. V takes a TO. On the ensuing throw in, they inbound the ball to a player that just subbed in during the TO. He is trapped just below the FT line. V1 (remember, he just subbed in) figures the path of least resistance is towards the goal so he shoots a layup in the wrong basket. I'm T. I look to the scorer and signal them to score 2 pts for home team. I watch the scoreboard to see the current score and make sure they get it right. In the meantime, since V just scored (albeit for the H team), H takes the ball OOB and inbounds it. Everyone starts going the other way. I'm looking at my partner not sure of what just happened because I was trying to verify the correct score. Now the guy H just inbounded to, takes a step in the wrong direction, and then realizes which basket is his, he turns around and puts up an uncontested layup in his correct basket. Horn goes off and their V's 3 pt lead is now a 1 pt. deficit. Both coaches come out at the same time, screaming. V saying "you can't count that" and H saying "you can't wipe that". I get them both away as my partner and I talk it over. We can hardly hear each other over the crowd's screams.

We discuss it and both agree that it is not a correctable error by definition. Consider a T for H being illegally OOB for inbounding the ball but based on the fact that V shot in the wrong basket, that didn't seem fair. We could not think of any way to correct it without unfairly penalizing H player for Visitor's error (and our error). My partner was the senior official and was embarrassed at his error and decided that he would just take the heat. He explained to both coaches that it was his error but he was not allowed by rule to correct it. H coach of course was happy and V coach wasn't, but he took it well. Game came down to a last second shot that was missed by H and V ended up winning by 1. I have yet to experience that atmosphere since.

Turns out we kicked the call. There was some case buried in the casebook. We should have wiped the second basket and put the time back on the clock with V correctly inbouding the ball. Seems logical now, but at the time, under those conditions, neither of us just never thought of that (I was caught up in the correctale error procedures). My partner emailed the V AD and coach and appologized for missing the call and not applying the proper correction. He stated what we should have done. Coach replied and said no problem and he would love to have us work his games in the future. Little did the coach know, the AD contacted the state association for an interpretation. The head of the state association backed up our initial ruling. When the AD got our email admitting our error, he forwarded it on to the state (who had just backed us) and said something to the affect, who is right? This required several more emails between us and the state.

A year later, I'm at a camp and I get the same coach. I asked him if he remembered me and he did right away. We laughed about it and he would crack me up every game at that camp with a comment or two. (I was ding'ed for being too friendly with the coach).

Sorry it was so long, but I've since moved and the area where I am at now is not nearly as fun. I've had a varsity girls game here with 12 people in the stands at the tip (Div 5A). There just isn't the interest in scholastic sports here that there was in Wisconsin. Still hoping to get to experience that atmosphere again.
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies...
Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 14, 2006, 11:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wherever the Army sends me this year
Posts: 267
I'm confused about two things:

1) Can someone explain what rule allows them to take the points off the board and administer the throw-in to the visitors. I am not saying this is illogical but what allows this by rule.

2) If you were driving in the snow, why would you ever think there was a swim meet going on? The kids in Wisconsin must be pretty tough.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 14, 2006, 11:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
If they score in the wrong basket, stop play, count the basket for whoever it counts for, then put the ball in play correctly. If you don't do this, you will have a screw up like the one mentioned. Of course, this means you realized it on the first score...

Incidentally, I saw a swim meet going on last year during just about the coldest weekend of the year here in Texas. Of course, that could me 37 degrees with a wind chill of 31. Hint: a nautatorium was used, though I'm sure it was still pretty chilly in there if you were wet.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 15, 2006, 03:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Aggie
If they score in the wrong basket, stop play, count the basket for whoever it counts for, then put the ball in play correctly. If you don't do this, you will have a screw up like the one mentioned. Of course, this means you realized it on the first score...
That is the correct procedure and is detailed in the Simplified & Illustrated book.

4-5-2 Number 4 is confused and dunks the ball in B's basket. The covering official stops play after the dunk and credits the two points to Team B. Team A will then be given the ball for a throw-in from anywhere outside the end line.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 15, 2006, 12:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 769
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyrao
I'm confused about two things:

1) Can someone explain what rule allows them to take the points off the board and administer the throw-in to the visitors. I am not saying this is illogical but what allows this by rule.
I don't have current books, they are at Kinkos getting bound together. The only ones I could easily find are 2002-3. It's in CB, 10.1.8. Basically, it says if A erroneously takes the ball out after a goal or a TO and subsequently scores, you do the following:

a. Charge Team A with a Tech
b. Cancel the goal
c. Cancel any common fouls and any non-flagrant fouls against the shooter
d. Put consumed time back on clock

It goes on further to say that if there is no doubt the throw-in was a result of confusion, follow the entire procedure above except that no technical foul is charged.

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyrao
2) If you were driving in the snow, why would you ever think there was a swim meet going on? The kids in Wisconsin must be pretty tough.
They swim really fast to get out of the cold.

Mregor
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies...
Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 15, 2006, 03:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyrao
I'm confused about two things:

1) Can someone explain what rule allows them to take the points off the board and administer the throw-in to the visitors. I am not saying this is illogical but what allows this by rule.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mregor
I don't have current books, they are at Kinkos getting bound together. The only ones I could easily find are 2002-3. It's in CB, 10.1.8. Basically, it says if A erroneously takes the ball out after a goal or a TO and subsequently scores, you do the following:

a. Charge Team A with a Tech
b. Cancel the goal
c. Cancel any common fouls and any non-flagrant fouls against the shooter
d. Put consumed time back on clock

It goes on further to say that if there is no doubt the throw-in was a result of confusion, follow the entire procedure above except that no technical foul is charged.
Mregor
Someone else will have to tell us when this Case Book ruling was adopted as I only have books going back to the 2001-2002 season. (I foolishly tossed the previous ones out before I discovered this forum.) This ruling is in that year's book and the wording is still the same today.

A SPECIFIC UNSPORTING ACT
10.1.8 SITUATION: Immediately following a goal or free throw by Team A, A1 inbounds the ball to A2 and A2 subsequently throws the ball through A's basket. RULING: The following procedure has been adopted to handle this specific situation if it is recognized before the opponents gain control or before the next throw-in begins: (a) charge Team A with a technical foul; (b) cancel the field goal; (c) cancel any common foul(s) committed and any nonflagrant foul against A2 in the act of shooting; and (d) put “consumed” time back on the clock. COMMENT: If there is no doubt the throw-in was a result of confusion, the entire procedure would be followed except no technical foul would be charged. This procedure shall not be used in any other throw-in situation in which a mistake allows the wrong team to inbound the ball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1