![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Originally Posted by just another ref
In 4.44.3 Situation A c the ball never leaves A1's hand. Quote:
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Quote:
This case results in Held ball, go to AP.? Correct? I am starting to see the confusion in the OP. When the ball leaves the shooters hand then the retrieve it it becomes a travel when they return to the floor.
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!" All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
In d of the same situation, A1 drops the ball to the floor and touches it first after it bounces. This is also ruled traveling for starting a dribble with the pivot foot off the floor.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
If A1 left the floor to attempt a shot - and it was blocked, there is no travel.
If the shot didn't leave A1's hand it is a held ball go to AP If the shot left the hand of A1 and was blocked A1 can retrieve tha ball or come down with it rule 4 article 43 section b If the player jumps, neither foot may return to the floof before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal, The ball left A1's hand one inch that makes it a try for goal no travel play on. I can not see how the Case book would justify trevling here Last edited by OHBBREF; Tue Nov 14, 2006 at 11:13am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
It's only a travel if (a) the shooter returns to the floor with continuous control of the ball and (b) the ball was NOT prevented from leaving the shooter's hand by the defender. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
|
|
|||
|
Casebook 4.44.3 Situation A: d A1 jumps to try for goal. B1 also jumps and touches the ball and A1 drops it to the floor and touches it first after it bounces. Ruling: a violation for starting a dribble with the pivot foot off the floor.
In this case, the book specifies that the ruling did not prevent the release of the ball on a pass or shot. On paper, then, this ruling is undeniable. But in the real world I would think that if B1 touches the ball, more often A1 will be given the benefit of the doubt that B1 knocked the ball loose. Therefore A1 will be allowed to recover the ball in any way without penalty.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| A slightly interesting one | JugglingReferee | Basketball | 24 | Sat Mar 19, 2005 03:56pm |
| Slightly out of focus | Back In The Saddle | Basketball | 21 | Sat Oct 23, 2004 01:03pm |
| Only Slightly Off Topic | rainmaker | Basketball | 59 | Thu May 13, 2004 03:59pm |
| Close Plays Made to be Easy Calls | whiskers_ump | Softball | 9 | Mon Mar 22, 2004 11:46pm |
| help: slightly off-topic | rgaudreau | Basketball | 12 | Sat Mar 16, 2002 01:01am |