![]() |
substitute or not
After the ball becomes live to begin the first quarter the offficial notices that A-1 is wearing an illegal jersey. A-1 plays the entire first quarter and enters the court to start the second quarter. Official assesses A-1 with a technical foul. Is the official correct?
My question--is A-1 consided a substitute at the start of the second quarter or is he still considered a starter? Based upon 10-3 article 2 (penalty) this makes a real difference to the above question. This was discussed tonight at one of our meetings and we could not reach agreement. Any help would be appreciated. |
If the ref noticed the illegal jersey in the first quarter, why did he allow the player to continue to play with it?
I think the official is correct, tho. Why does it matter if the player is a sub or not? |
No, the official is incorrect. This has to be caught prior to the ball becoming live to start the game or the player must exit the game and then re-enter. During the intermission between quarters the five players are still players. No substitution has taken place.
RULE 10, SECTION 3 PLAYER TECHNICAL A player shall not: ... ART. 2 . . . W ear an illegal number or an illegal shirt or illegal pants/skirt. PENALTY Art. 2) Each violation is penalized one time if discovered prior to ball becoming live for each designated starter and each substitute who enters. |
Rule change 4-34-1, 2. PLAYERS/BENCH PERSONNEL.
I always thought the time frame between quarters is concidered to be 'intermission'. So, now during intermission, all team members are bench personnel. If A1 comes back onto the court, he/she can be assesed a 'T' for illegal uniform. NO? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
JR, thanks for the help.
|
Quote:
Welcome to this forum.:) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Wearing an <b>illegal</b> shirt is completely different than wearing a <b>legal</b> shirt that is untucked. They have completely different penalties. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Nevermind then. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53pm. |