![]() |
|
|
|||
To get you started, more to come tomorrow
What’s The Call? That’s A Block! The defensive player was moving Once a defensive player has obtained LGP, the player may move to keel that LGP. If the offensive player initiates the contact with a defender who has a LGP, even while the defender is moving, it’s a foul on the offense. A defender doesn’t have to be stationary to dray a foul. The ball bounced over his head. That’s a carry! How high the ball bounces while dribbling isn’t the key factor in determing a carry violation. Where the dribbler’s hand when in contact with the ball is the factor. If the location of the dribbler’s hand is on top of, or is on the side of the ball, the dribble is legal regardless of the height of the ball or the number of steps the dribbler takes between bounces. If the hand rests underneath the ball, then it’s a violation. There’s got to be room to come down! An airborne player who catches the ball does not always have to have room to land. The key is accurately determining who is at fault when the OP left the ground and the defender obtained LGP. If the defender obtained LGP after the OP went airborne, it’s a foul on the defender. If the defender obtained LGP before the OP went airborne, the bonus for getting out of the way is on the OP. The cry, ‘you’ve got to give the player a step!’ applies only to a DP who jumps in front of an opponent without the ball. You can’ pass it to yourself. That’s traveling! Following a try for a goal, neither team is in control. An airball, which is determined by the official to be a legit try for a goal, may be rebounded or caught by any player including the shooter. If the airball is considered a shot for a goal, anyone can track the ball down. If a teammate of the shooter can catch an airball, why can’t the shooter catch it? They’re reaching in! Reaching in is not a foul. The term is nowhere to be found in the rule book. There must be contact for a foul. A contact foul is either a hold, illegal use of the hands. The only time there is a foul is when the DP gains an advantage by restricting the movement of the OP or is aided in moving to guard the dribbler. A defender reaching and not making contact is not a foul. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Calling it both ways...since 1999 Last edited by Bad Zebra; Tue Nov 07, 2006 at 05:18pm. |
|
|||
A few more:
The thrower moved! The designated spot rule is contrary to its name. The DS is defined as a three-foot wide area but there is no restriction on its depth. A player may move as long as one foot remains on or over the three foot wide area or retreat as far back as desired without penalty. A player may move during a designated spot throw-in, as long as the movements are with prescribed limits of the designated spot. There is no pivot foot and a player can’t be called for traveling. He’s over the back! OTB is not part of the terminology used in classifying fouls. A player who snares a rebound either caused contact and put the other player at a disadvantage (in which case the foul would be called a push) or the play was no-call. A player who is taller than an opponent or can out jump their opponent shouldn’t be penalized because the player reached over the back. Contact is needed for a foul. He slapped the backboard! That’s a T! If a DP attempts to block a shot and incidentally contacts the backboard, it is not a T. It doesn’t matter how hard the BB was slapped or if the BB rattles and affects the shot. It’s not basket interference either, so don’t count the goal. A T can only be called if the contact with the BB is intentional and the ball is in flight on a try or a tap, is touching the BB, is in the imaginary cylinder, or is on or within the basket. The intent of the rule is not to punish players who unintentionally contact the BB. The ball hit the player’s foot! That’s a kick! A kicking violation can only be called if there is contact with the ball and player’s knee or any part of the leg or foot below the knee, if it is done intentionally. If a pass or loose ball hits the foot of a player during normal action, no violation has occurred. The intent of the player and where the ball hits are the determining factors if a kicking violation has occurred. He didn’t have both feet inbounds when he touched the ball! A player who touches the floor inbounds is considered to be inbounds, provided no other parts of the body are out of bounds, without any requirement that both of the player’s feet touch inbounds. Only one foot has to have touched inbounds for the entire player to be considered inbounds. A player is either completely inbounds our out-of-bounds. A player can have one foot inbounds, the other foot in the air, touch the ball and still be legal. The ball hit the top of the backboard! That’s out of bounds! The ball is only OB with it touches the supports, the back of the BB, or goes over the top if the BB on rectangle boards only. The front, sides, bottom and top of the BB are all areas where the ball is still in play. He hit the dribbler’s hand! Where’s the foul? Contact with the dribbler’s hand doesn’t automatically constitute a foul. Contact with the dribbler is a foul unless contact is only with the opponent’s hand while on the ball and is incidental to an attempt to play the ball. No matter the sound, if a player hits the dribbler’s hand while the dribbler’s hand is on the ball and that player was making an attempt to play the ball, it’s not a foul. You can’t slide on the floor with the ball! The key is momentum. If a player dives for a lose ball, gets control of it and his or her momentum caused the slide with the ball, there is no violation no matter how much distance the slide covered. Once the sliding player has stopped, the player may sit up but the player can’t roll over or attempt to get up off the floor while holding the ball. The ref made the call that cost us the game! Officials do not make calls which decide the outcomes of games. Players commit fouls or violations, official view those infractions, judge the action and then apply rules of the game to what they have viewed. The rules then determine the penalty. The officials do not decide the outcome of a game; the players determine the outcome of the game, including fouls and violation. |
|
|||
Most Misunderstood Basketball Rules Part I
MOST MISUNDERSTOOD BASKETBALL RULES PART I
1) It is important to know the intent and purpose of a rule so that it may be intelligently applied in each play situation. A player of a team should not be permitted an advantage which is not intended by a rule. Neither should play be permitted to develop which may lead to placing a player at a disadvantage not intended by a rule. 2) A player cannot touch the ball, ring, or net while the ball is on the ring or within the basket. A player cannot touch the ball if it is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. These are examples of basket interference. It is legal to touch the ring or the net if the ball is above the ring and not touching the ring, even if the ball is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. It is legal to hang on the ring if a player is avoiding an injury to himself or herself or another player. 3) The backboard has nothing to do with goaltending. Goaltending is contacting the ball on its downward flight, above the level of the rim, with a chance to go in. On most layups, the ball is going up after it contacts the backboard. It is legal to pin the ball against the backboard if it still on the way up and not in the imaginary cylinder above the basket. Slapping the backboard is neither basket interference nor is it goaltending and points cannot be awarded. A player who strikes a backboard so forcefully that it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration, may be assessed a technical foul. When a player simply attempts to block a shot and accidentally slaps the backboard it is neither a violation nor is it a technical foul. 4) The front, top, sides, and bottom of the backboard are all in play. The ball cannot pass over a rectangular backboard from either direction. The back of a backboard is out of bounds as well as the supporting structures. 5) The traveling rule is one of the most misunderstood rules in basketball. To start a dribble, the ball must be released before the pivot foot is lifted. On a pass or a shot, the pivot foot may be lifted, but may not return to the floor before the ball is released. A player may slide on the floor while trying to secure a loose ball until that player’s momentum stops. At that point that player cannot attempt to get up or rollover. A player securing a ball while on the floor cannot attempt to stand up unless that player starts a dribble. A player in this situation may also pass, shoot, or call a timeout. If the player is flat on his or her back, that player may sit up without violating. 6) During a fumble the player is not in control of the ball, and therefore, cannot be called for a traveling violation. A fumble is the accidental loss of player control when the ball is unintentionally dropped or slips from a player’s grasp. After a player has ended a dribble and fumbled the ball, that player may recover the ball without violating. Any steps taken during the recovery of a fumble are not traveling, regardless of how far the ball goes and the amount of advantage that is gained. It is always legal to recover a fumble, even at the end of a dribble, however that player cannot begin a new dribble, which would be a double dribble violation. A player who fumbles the ball when receiving a pass may legally start a dribble. 7) The shooter can retrieve his or her own airball, if the referee considers it to be a shot attempt. The release ends team control. It is not a violation for that player to start another dribble at that point. When an airborne player keeps control of an attempted shot that is blocked and is unable to release the ball and returns to the floor with it, that player has not traveled; it is a jump ball. If, in this situation, the shooter releases the ball, then this is simply a blocked shot and play continues. 8) Palming or carrying is when a player gains an advantage when the ball comes to rest in the player's hand, and the player either travels with the ball, or dribbles a second time. There is no restriction as to how high a player may bounce the ball, provided the ball does not come to rest in a player’s hand. Steps taken during a dribble are not traveling, including several that are sometimes taken when a high dribble takes place. It is not possible for a player to travel during a dribble. 9) A player inbounding the ball may step on, but not over the line. During a designated spot throwin, the player inbounding the ball must keep one foot on or over the three-foot wide designated spot. An inbounding player is allowed to jump or move one or both feet. A player inbounding the ball may move backward as far as the five-second time limit or space allows. If player moves outside the three-foot wide designated spot it is a violation, not travelling. In gymnasiums with limited space outside the sidelines and endlines, a defensive player may be asked to step back no more than three feet. A player inbounding the ball may bounce the ball on the out-of-bounds area prior to making a throwin. 10) The defender may not break the imaginary plane during a throwin. If the defender breaks the imaginary plane during a throwin, the defender’s team will receive a team warning, or if the team has already been warned for one of the four delay situations, this action would result in a team technical foul. If the defender contacts the ball after breaking the imaginary plane, it is a player technical foul and a team warning will be recorded. If the defender fouls the inbounding player after breaking the imaginary plane, it is an intentional personal foul, and a team warning will be recorded. 11) The inbounding player does not have a plane restriction, but has five seconds to release the ball and it must come directly onto the court. The ball can always be passed into the backcourt during a throwin. This situation is not a backcourt violation. 12) If a player's momentum carries him or her off the court, he or she can be the first player to touch the ball after returning inbounds. That player must not have left the court voluntarily and must immediately return inbounds. That player must have something in and nothing out. It is not necessary to have both feet back inbounds. 13) If a blind screen is set on a stationary defender, the defender must be given one normal step to change direction and attempt to avoid contact. If a screen is set on a moving defender, the defender gets a minimum of one step and a maximum of two steps, depending on the speed and distance of the defender. 14) The hand is considered part of the ball when the hand is in contact with the ball. This includes holding, dribbling, passing, or even during a shot attempt. Striking a ball handler or a shooter on that player's hand that is incidental to an attempt to play the ball is not a foul, no matter how loud it sounds or how much it hurts. 15) Reaching in is not a foul. The term is nowhere to be found in any rulebook. There must be contact to have a foul. The mere act of reaching in, by itself, is nothing. If contact does occur, it’s either a holding foul or an illegal use of hands foul. When a player, in order to stop the clock, does not make a legitimate play for the ball, holds, pushes or grabs away from the ball, or uses undue roughness, the foul is an intentional foul. Revised 5/9/06 Thanks to the following Official Forum Basketball members for their contributions in developing this list: bossref, Hartsy, Jurassic Referee, Camron Rust, Mark Padgett, Nevadaref, Mark Dexter, Dan ref, mdray, Jimgolf, elecref, Assignmentmaker, IREFU2, and David M.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Wed Nov 08, 2006 at 08:07pm. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Presentation | SouthGARef | Football | 2 | Thu Aug 24, 2006 06:26am |
Rule 8 Presentation | chiefgil | Football | 3 | Sat Jul 30, 2005 08:49pm |
Help with Presentation | DrMooreReferee | Football | 2 | Fri May 13, 2005 03:38pm |
Who wants the presentation? | JRutledge | Basketball | 0 | Sat Nov 06, 2004 07:20pm |
Moving Up Presentation. | JRutledge | Basketball | 48 | Fri Nov 05, 2004 02:16pm |