The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   shot hits support wire (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/29188-shot-hits-support-wire.html)

M&M Guy Fri Nov 03, 2006 12:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
I don't think there is a limit on a certain amount of time to make a call. The problem in the original post is that a call was made after time-out was called and the coach prompted the officials to do so. Now this is no longer a call to be made, but an error to be corrected.

A missed violation is not a correctable error, according to myself and several others, as vigorously stated on the last 80 or so pages on this thread.

So, what is 9.2.2 SITUATION C?

Ref in PA Fri Nov 03, 2006 01:23pm

I have followed this discussion from the beginning. I do not think you can go back and correct a missed violation.

Consider this play. A1 drives and does a jump stop in the Trail's primary area. A1 then pivots, then shoots a jump shot that is good. The Trail lets the play go. The Lead is focus on players in his primary and does not see the play. Coach B calls a time out after the made basket and wants to discuss the "violation." Trail admits a jump stop occurred and then a pivot and says it is legal. Coach B now appeals to you. Trail does not know the rule. You know the rule. Do you wipe out a basket on a play that was never whistled? I don't. I tell the coach we can discuss this play after the game if he wants, but as a crew, we live with it and take the heat.

I am still awaiting the interpretation of Mr. Jenkins.

rockyroad Fri Nov 03, 2006 01:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ref in PA
I have followed this discussion from the beginning. I do not think you can go back and correct a missed violation.

Consider this play. A1 drives and does a jump stop in the Trail's primary area. A1 then pivots, then shoots a jump shot that is good. The Trail lets the play go. The Lead is focus on players in his primary and does not see the play. Coach B calls a time out after the made basket and wants to discuss the "violation." Trail admits a jump stop occurred and then a pivot and says it is legal. Coach B now appeals to you. Trail does not know the rule. You know the rule. Do you wipe out a basket on a play that was never whistled? I don't. I tell the coach we can discuss this play after the game if he wants, but as a crew, we live with it and take the heat.

I am still awaiting the interpretation of Mr. Jenkins.

Uhmmm...why would a jump stop followed by a pivot be a violation? That move has been around since Earl the Pearl Monroe made it poplular back in the 50's...a jumpstop does not establish a pivot foot, so they can still pivot on one of those feets of theirs without travelling...

I can NOT believe I actually added to the length of this thread!!:mad:

M&M Guy Fri Nov 03, 2006 01:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad
I can NOT believe I actually added to the length of this thread!!:mad:

Kinda like quicksand, isn't it? Get too close, and it sucks you right in.

Dan_ref Fri Nov 03, 2006 02:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
Kinda like quicksand, isn't it? Get too close, and it sucks you right in.

More like a potato chip...take that first one out of the bag & before you know it you're scraping the greasy crumbs from the bottom...speaking of scraping crumbs, how is it that Chuck has completely ignored this thread??

just another ref Fri Nov 03, 2006 02:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad
Uhmmm...why would a jump stop followed by a pivot be a violation?

What most of us refer to as a jump stop is what is described in 4-44-2-a-3 and 4-44-2-b-2.

In both of these cases, neither foot can be a pivot.

just another ref Fri Nov 03, 2006 02:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
So, what is 9.2.2 SITUATION C?

This is nothing more than calling a violation and waving off a basket, no different than saying A1 goes in for a spectacular dunk, but travels on the way up. Ruling: call the violation and wave off the basket

M&M Guy Fri Nov 03, 2006 03:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
This is nothing more than calling a violation and waving off a basket, no different than saying A1 goes in for a spectacular dunk, but travels on the way up. Ruling: call the violation and wave off the basket

Cool! You're starting to get it now!

:)

Jurassic Referee Fri Nov 03, 2006 04:21pm

I disagree.<i></i>

M&M Guy Fri Nov 03, 2006 04:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
I disagree.<i></i>

What?!

I wasn't aware of that.

Dan_ref Fri Nov 03, 2006 05:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
I disagree.<i></i>

What was the question again?

....here, have a potato chip

just another ref Fri Nov 03, 2006 05:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
Cool! You're starting to get it now!

:)


Starting to get what? I don't get it.

JRutledge Fri Nov 03, 2006 05:27pm

Omg!!!
 
Thirteen pages over this topic? :rolleyes:

Peace

M&M Guy Fri Nov 03, 2006 09:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge
Thirteen pages over this topic? :rolleyes:

Peace

Oh, don't worry. We're still a long way from the off-topic thread record.

(Btw, don't remind me what that thread was about. :( )

M&M Guy Fri Nov 03, 2006 10:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
Starting to get what? I don't get it.

You had it right earlier:
Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
This is nothing more than calling a violation and waving off a basket...

Mabe I had it wrong in calling it a correctable error. Even I had a problem trying to convince myself of correcting this even withing the correctable error time limits. But this case play makes more sense. A violation occured, the basket happened (relatively) immediately afterwards, we acknowledge the violation happened, wipe off the basket, and go on.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1