The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   shot hits support wire (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/29188-shot-hits-support-wire.html)

M&M Guy Wed Nov 01, 2006 05:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
<i>"Who's on First?"</i>

I don't know.

Jurassic Referee Wed Nov 01, 2006 05:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
If we tell B's coach we screwed up, but still get to leave the basket on the board, and charge him for his (probably) last TO, he's probably going to be getting a T. And, depending on their personality, maybe 2.

Naw, if you tell most <b>good</b> coaches that you screwed up but you can't do anything about it, sure, they'll grumble and vent a little. Just don't debate it with them. Do what Tomegun advised. After fessing up, get the ball back into play asap and let 'em get it out of their system. Most of them will let it go fairly quickly and go back to coaching, without giving you instant replay of your screw-up. If they don't wanna let it it go, then it's on them. F**k 'em if they can't take a joke. :D You just deal with it.

Dan_ref Wed Nov 01, 2006 05:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
What violation? The one that was never called?

I dunno coach, I was watching your player foul their big guy at the time...I didn't see any violation.

M&M Guy Wed Nov 01, 2006 06:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Naw, if you tell most <b>good</b> coaches...

There's my point right there. How many of those are out there?

Admittedly, I'm taking the path of least resistance. I might be able to talk my way through the rule correction explanantion to a knowledgable coach easier than I can tell the less-knowledgable ones, "Sorry, we screwed up and there's nothing we can do." And, you're right - the sooner we get the ball back in play, the sooner we can get the letters and forms filled out,...er... I mean get the ballgame going.

Adam Wed Nov 01, 2006 07:46pm

To me it's pretty simple to just say, "Coach, even if it did hit the wire, we can't go back and correct it because violations aren't considered correctable errors." Cut him a bit of slack with his venting while you put the ball into play and move on.

Mregor Wed Nov 01, 2006 11:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SmokeEater
Try 2-10-1 it does say Officials may correct an error if a rule is inadvertantly set aside and results in:
d. Erroneously counting or canceling a score.

Forgive me if this is already answered, but I can't read through 4 pages of this. First off, if you P doesn't know this is a violation, you have a whole lot more to worry about for the rest of the game. :eek:

An example of a rule being inadvertently set aside and resulting in erroneously counting a score would be if your P called the violation, but the scorekeeper counted it anyway. I am not going back and wiping the basket.

Mregor

just another ref Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mregor
Forgive me if this is already answered, but I can't read through 4 pages of this. First off, if you P doesn't know this is a violation, you have a whole lot more to worry about for the rest of the game. :eek:

An example of a rule being inadvertently set aside and resulting in erroneously counting a score would be if your P called the violation, but the scorekeeper counted it anyway. I am not going back and wiping the basket.

Mregor

Part of what you are saying has been addressed. I strongly agree with the part about the partner. As for the second part, if the violation had been called but the basket was signaled good, that would be a correctable error. If the violation was called, the basket waved off, then the scorekeeper counted it anyway, the result would be a bookkeeping mistake, which can be corrected any time up until the referee approves the final score.

Mregor Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
Part of what you are saying has been addressed. I strongly agree with the part about the partner. As for the second part, if the violation had been called but the basket was signaled good, that would be a correctable error. If the violation was called, the basket waved off, then the scorekeeper counted it anyway, the result would be a bookkeeping mistake, which can be corrected any time up until the referee approves the final score.

Yep, you're right about correcting a bookkeping error at anytime. Incorrect case on my part.

rockyroad Thu Nov 02, 2006 10:57am

So be honest now, everyone...how many of you actually thought - the first time you read the original post - that this thread would end up going for 11 freaking pages???

Just checked with my online bookie, and Vegas has the over/under set at 15...personally, I'm thinking M&M and JR can do 15 pages of arguing in their sleep!! :D

Jurassic Referee Thu Nov 02, 2006 11:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad

.personally, I'm thinking M&M and JR can do 15 pages of arguing in their sleep!!

Well, just for the sake of argument, I think you're wrong.

Mike B Thu Nov 02, 2006 03:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
To me it's pretty simple to just say, "Coach, even if it did hit the wire, we can't go back and correct it because violations aren't considered correctable errors." Cut him a bit of slack with his venting while you put the ball into play and move on.

What would the call be if it were a FOUL SHOT?

just another ref Thu Nov 02, 2006 03:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mike B
What would the call be if it were a FOUL SHOT?

I don't see where that would change the call.

Mike B Thu Nov 02, 2006 04:30pm

2:10 e
 
In 2:10 d A.E
Erronesouly counting or caneling a score is correctable. I guess it depend if the ref saw it or not. Good question.
Thanks,
Mike

Jurassic Referee Thu Nov 02, 2006 05:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mike B
In 2:10 d A.E
Erronesouly counting or caneling a score is correctable.

Missing a violation isn't.

Apples and tulips.

Dan_ref Thu Nov 02, 2006 07:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Missing a violation isn't.

Apples and tulips.

We aint gonna go around this block again, are we??!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1