The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 25, 2006, 05:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 1,955
Last night we were told to grant it up until the time you started your count. What have other interperters told you?
__________________
That's my whistle -- and I'm sticking to it!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 25, 2006, 06:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by refnrev
Last night we were told to grant it up until the time you started your count. What have other interperters told you?
You can't (properly) be told anything else. The count starts when teh ball is at B's disposal. A can be granted a TO if the request is made before the ball is at B's disposal. The two events(start / stop) happen at teh exact same time.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 25, 2006, 06:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
i disagree with this -- because like i said before what if you start your count and A has not gathered the ball for the throw in because lets say they were not paying attention or are just wasting time.

I would still grant a timeout if they wanted to award team A with a new count thats on them. I would only not grant the timeout if team A actually had the ball as was on their way to inbounds.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 25, 2006, 07:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Boston area
Posts: 615
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee
i disagree with this -- because like i said before what if you start your count and A has not gathered the ball for the throw in because lets say they were not paying attention or are just wasting time.

I would still grant a timeout if they wanted to award team A with a new count thats on them. I would only not grant the timeout if team A actually had the ball as was on their way to inbounds.
You can disagree, but you are completely wrong. The ball is dead from the time the basket is made until it is at the new offensive team's disposal -- when it is live. The opposing team can not call a time out when the ball is live and is at the other team's disposal (5-8-3). Having physical possession of the ball is not a requirement for "at the disposal of a player." (4-4-7c & d spell it out.)

You cannot make up the rules because you don't like them. The only judgment you have to make is at what point the ball is at the new team's disposal. As this year's new interpretation makes clear, taking possession of the ball after it goes through the net does not equal "at disposal." All the other posters have stated it correctly -- once you start a count, it is too late for the scoring team to legally be granted a time out.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 25, 2006, 07:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Thumbs down

Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee
i disagree with this -- because like i said before what if you start your count and A has not gathered the ball for the throw in because lets say they were not paying attention or are just wasting time.

I would still grant a timeout if they wanted to award team A with a new count thats on them. I would only not grant the timeout if team A actually had the ball as was on their way to inbounds.
Completely wrong. Same as your opinion on enforcing the coaching box.

But you are young, so there is still the possibility that someday you will learn to follow the rules and not just do as you wish.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 26, 2006, 02:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 149
Thumbs up

Thank you for your input. Your responses have made the situation perfectly clear.
__________________
My Greatest Call? I Trusted Christ!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 29, 2006, 11:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Just this side of crazy
Posts: 323
This is also a "game awareness" issue. If it is close, both officials will be prepared for the time out call and be shooting a look at the coach out of the corner of their eye before beginning the count.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1