![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Maybe rockyroad put you in as one of his blocks. ![]()
__________________
"To learn, you have to listen. To improve, you have to try." (Thomas Jefferson) Z |
|
|||
Quote:
If you look at 7-21 AR 161, you'll see that an inadvertent whistle is handled differently depending on whether whether it occurs before or after the ball is released on a try. If it occurs before the ball is released, then team A still has possession and we give the ball back to A. If it occurs after the release, the shot "counts" and we ignore the whistle if the shot goes in, and go to the AP if it misses. Based on this, it would seem that the FT attempt would not be canceled by the inadvertent whistle and we'd enforce the violation by B1 by giving the ball back to A1 for the first FT of a one-and-one, but with no delayed violation against B1. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Let's take the violation out of the picture and propose another situation. A1 is awarded one FT. A1 releases the ball on the FT attempt. The ball hits the rim and bounces straight up. An official blows his/her whistle at that point. Would you cancel the FT and give A1 another FT if the ball goes in? What if the ball doesn't go in? |
|
|||
Quote:
And Scott, regardless of what Z says, I didn't block you...the boss said something about having too many good-looking officials on the court distracting all those women coaches - getting too many complaints about that, I guess... ![]() ![]() ![]() Shutup Jr, just shutup!! |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
|
|||
A.R. 178. A1 is attempting the second of two free throws. B2 violates the lane followed by a lane violation by A2. The official inadvertently blows his/her whistle, which stops play, before A1 releases the ball for his/her attempt. The officials re-administer the freethrow attempt by placing the ball at the disposal of A1 for his/her free-throw attempt. Before A1’s release of the ball for his/her try, B3 commits a lane violation.
RULING: When A1’s free throw attempt is unsuccessful, he/she shall be awarded a substitute free substitute free throw. When A1’s attempt is successful, B2’s violation shall be ignored. Not exactly the same scenario as the initial post, but kinda in the same spirit. But I understand Lotto's point. The question or the choices probably should be worded differently.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Thu Sep 28, 2006 at 01:13pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Thanks for posting the AR, guys. But it doesn't help. In our sitch, the whistle blew while the ball was in the air. That means the ball stays live until the try ends. That means that he got the first FT, so the penalty for the defensive violation is assessed just as if there was no whistle, IMHO.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
|
|||
Quote:
That is exactly what I was thinking, but that was not a possible answer on the test. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
NCAA IFF | U_of_I_Blue | Softball | 6 | Mon May 02, 2005 10:36am |
ncaa men v. fed | jr | Basketball | 3 | Sun Feb 06, 2005 11:11am |
NF vs. NCAA | JMN | Football | 7 | Tue May 04, 2004 03:56pm |
Tie up? (NCAA) | Jay R | Basketball | 9 | Mon Jan 12, 2004 11:01am |