The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Post Play (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/28475-post-play.html)

btaylor64 Thu Sep 28, 2006 10:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mick
You seem very passionate about this game.
That can be a good thing.

It's kind of my life. It's what I do for a living.

Jimgolf Thu Oct 12, 2006 10:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64
This is hard because NFHS just puts this in their POE section every 1 out of 10 years, and college does not have great guidelines either.

This year's NCAA Women's POE on rough play has (IMHO) excellent and clear guidelines for what is permissible in post play.

Quote:

Post Play
Post play is still too rough. Players are gaining too much of an advantage by holding and displacing their opponents. Coaches must teach players legal tactics while playing the post, and officials must penalize illegal tactics when they are observed.
a. Definition. A post player is defined in Rule 4-52 as any offensive or defensive player in the lane area with or without the ball with his or her back to the basket. The lane area includes the three-second lane (4-64) and approximately three feet just outside the lane.
An offensive post player becomes a ball handler when, while in the lane area, she turns and faces the basket with the ball or moves completely outside the lane area with the ball.
b. Legal activity. It is legal for a defensive player to place one or two body parts (hands or arm-bars) on the offensive post player provided no holding, displacing or illegal contact occurs. Legal contact occurs when offensive and defensive players are touching and both are maintaining a legally established position. However, when any legal contact occurs between post players to maintain a position, an official’s awareness should be heightened and he/she should be prepared to make a foul call when the contact becomes illegal.