![]() |
|
|||
Case Book Play 4.14.1 SITUATION A: DISQUALIFICATION
A1 is fouled by B1 while team A is in the bonus. The covering official is at the table reporting the foul when A1 is charged with a technical foul by thje official who is observing the players. The foul on A1 is his/her fifth. RULING: A1 is disqualified as both personal and technical fouls are counted. Because A1 has been disqualified, he/she will not be allowed to attempt the free throw(s) resulting from B1's foul. The substitute for A1 will shoot the free throw(s). (8-2) And if A1's substitute doesn't shoot the free throws, it now becomes a correctable error under rule 2-10, yada, yada, yada...... Do you people honestly feel that the FED intended to throw the correctable error rule and everything else that I cited down the toilet just because a disqualified player wasn't notified? He was still disqualified, wasn't he? Unless you can tie the language of 4-14-2 into this specific situation, and also come up with something that sez that rule trumps everything else cited so far in the rule or case books, then I ain't buying it. Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Tue Sep 12, 2006 at 08:44pm. |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Number of Free Throws on Intentional Foul? | ReadyToRef | Basketball | 12 | Mon Sep 06, 2004 09:53am |
"free" throws | John Chladek | Basketball | 8 | Wed Mar 05, 2003 12:55pm |
Shot Technical foul free throws at wrong basket. | Jerry Blum | Basketball | 3 | Wed Jan 29, 2003 11:48am |
Free Throws?? | Cyber-Ref | Basketball | 13 | Thu Jan 23, 2003 08:17am |
free throws | 49john | Basketball | 6 | Sat Jan 18, 2003 09:02pm |