The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Over and back -correctable call (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/27673-over-back-correctable-call.html)

M&M Guy Fri Aug 04, 2006 09:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mick
unoticed? unnoticed? un-noticed?

Actually, according to Dictionary.com, both unnoticed and un-noticed are listed, but un-noticed references unnoticed.

Did anyone else notice?

Signed,

Mr. Annoying Pain-In-The-Azz Spelling Guy's Capable Intern.

PS - mick, considering this was a middle school game, I might also consider calling the violation, even after the missed shots. But any level higher, I would have to say it's a missed call, and nothing, and just move on after correcting the direction the players were going. Also, depending on how and how much the other coach was complaining, I might consider letting it go as well. The coach might then get the impression he can have you go back and correct calls all game.

Jurassic Referee Fri Aug 04, 2006 09:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mick
JR,

Yer just being irascible cuz your sitch don't work.

Irascible?

<i>Moi?</i>:confused:

Actually, I think that the language used in that case case play is relevant.

<i>"Once the mistake is recognized, play shall continue with with each team attempting to score in it's own basket"</i>

It's an official mistake in not recognizing the violation when it occurred. Just resume play at the POI.

mick Fri Aug 04, 2006 09:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
The coach might then get the impression he can have you go back and correct calls all game.

M&M,
That would be a very short impression, methinks.
mick

mick Fri Aug 04, 2006 09:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Irascible?

Moi?:confused:

Actually, I think that the language used in that case case play is relevant.

"Once the mistake is recognized, play shall continue with with each team attempting to score in it's own basket"

It's an official mistake in not recognizing the violation when it occurred. Just resume play at the POI.

JR,
Defending an improper sitch with that sentence?
To that I say, "Ha !"

My opinion of Jim Henry blowing to stop the play is that he did just fine.
And, if he (and his partner) had wanted to go "backcourt violation", that act would not have broken any rule.
mick

M&M Guy Fri Aug 04, 2006 10:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mick
M&M,
That would be a very short impression, methinks.
mick

I would hope so. ;)

But why even give them a glimmer of hope?

Jurassic Referee Fri Aug 04, 2006 10:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mick
JR,
1) My opinion of Jim Henry blowing to stop the play is that he did just fine.

2) And, if he (and his partner) had wanted to go "backcourt violation", that act would not have broken any rule.

1) I don't have a problem with him stopping play either to make sure that any confusion was over. I do have a problem with a retroactive call.

2) Oh? How about rule 2-10-1? That rule lists <b>all</b> of the correctable errors that can legally be corrected. I can't seem to find a "missed violation" in that section anywhere. :)

mick Fri Aug 04, 2006 10:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
1) 2) Oh? How about rule 2-10-1? That rule lists all of the correctable errors that can legally be corrected. I can't seem to find a "missed violation" in that section anywhere. :)

YU.P.
I think this thread well shows that the "missed violation" should not be construed as a correctable error.

Perhaps the "missed violation" section is implicated somewhere else.
...Maybe in the "How much time do I have to blow my whistle after a foul or violation" section.

mick

M&M Guy Fri Aug 04, 2006 10:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mick
Perhaps the "missed violation" section is implicated somewhere else.
...Maybe in the "How much time do I have to blow my whistle after a foul or violation" section.

mick

Patient whistle?

KenThree Fri Aug 04, 2006 11:04am

That's a good item to work into your game - to catch those over-and-backs that occur on the jump ball.

Over-and-back (or backcourt violations) cannot happen on a jump ball. it can happen after a team has gained possesion following a jump ball

Basketball
NFHS
Rule 9: Violations and Penalties
Section 9: Backcourt - Article 3


A player from the team not in control (defensive player or during a jump ball or throw-in) may legally jump from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or backcourt.

BktBallRef Fri Aug 04, 2006 11:46am

Yes, Ken, thank you. We all know that.

What mick is discussing is these types of plays routinely happen after the jump ball that opens the game. He's fully aware of the rule, I can assure you.

SamIAm Fri Aug 04, 2006 12:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle
As to the question of what if B scored:

A live ball passed through A's basket (as JugglingReferee pointed out, teams shoot at their own baskets in Fed), so A get two points. At this point you're going to hit the whistle, get everyone straightened out on which direction they're supposed to be going, and give the ball back to B for a throw-in anywhere along the A's endline.

You're going to want to do this rather quickly, before B's coach starts whining about how you should've called over and back and not given them the basket.

Just a couple of little twists for your consideration:
  • If B gets fouled while shooting at A's basket, the ball is dead immediately and B is not given any free throws even if the shot is unsuccessful (B would, however get free throws if B were in the bonus, but that was obviously not the case in the play you stated).
  • If B shoots at A's basket from behind the three point line, it only counts two points.
Both of these little quirks are because shooting at your opponent's basket is not considered a try.

I think this is in-correct as a blanket statement. If A is playing defense on B, who is shooting at the wrong basket, B gets the points, you set everyone straight, then play on. This applies when both teams get turned around.

rainmaker Fri Aug 04, 2006 12:28pm

Are we still talking about the OP? Because in that play, the dribbler shot at his own basket, not the opponents. The dribbler headed the wrong way initially, but then ended up shooting in the correct basket.

Back In The Saddle Fri Aug 04, 2006 12:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm
I think this is in-correct as a blanket statement. If A is playing defense on B, who is shooting at the wrong basket, B gets the points, you set everyone straight, then play on. This applies when both teams get turned around.

This is what happens when I post at 2am. I TOTALLY mis-understood what I mis-read in the OP. I'll just sit in the corner and rock quietly for a while, shall I?:(

26 Year Gap Fri Aug 04, 2006 04:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mick
REFVA,
Yeah that's the right call.
The question is:
  • If the play goes (temporarily) unoticed, can you (should you) make the violation call.
mick

unoticed? unnoticed? un-noticed?

Not noticed

Back In The Saddle Fri Aug 04, 2006 05:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm
I think this is in-correct as a blanket statement. If A is playing defense on B, who is shooting at the wrong basket, B gets the points, you set everyone straight, then play on. This applies when both teams get turned around.

Okay, after sufficient caffein intake, I'm now ready to take another crack at this. My final answer is: It depends :)

If the officials allow the teams to line up going the wrong way, then allow play to continue as if everyone had lined up correctly, then you are correct. That's this rule: "If by mistake the officials permit a team to go the wrong direction, when discovered all points scored, fouls committed, and time consumed shall count as if each team had gone the proper direction. Play shall resume with each team going the proper direction based on bench location."

If everybody lines up the right direction, there is a reasonable expectation that everybody knows which direction we're going. If a player then legally heads the wrong direction, you've got a different story. If that player scores in the wrong basket, the proper rule is this (my emphasis): "A successful try, tap or thrown ball that does not touch the floor, a teammate or official, from the field by a player who is located behind the team's own 19-foot, 9-inch line counts three points. Any other goal from the field counts two points for the team into whose basket the ball is thrown. See 4-5-4."

The question I imagined the OP asked was "what if rather than B coming back into their own frontcourt after having gone over the half line the first time, they stayed in their backcourt and scored at A's basket?" In that case, you live with your initial (kicked) no-call and the consequences. The consequences are A receives two points because a goal was scored at their basket. Then you kill the play, get them straightened out, and restart with B's throw-in from anywhere along A's endline.

I would further add these seemingly contradictory statements:
  • I think that the timeframe in which you can reasonably call the, at first unrealized, backcourt violation is be longer than normal in this case. To the point that if B had a break-away layup opportunity, I think you could still whistle the backcourt violation up until the time the ball leave's B's hand for the shot. I think you could sell that late call without much fuss.
  • As long as no other violation or foul occurs, you allow this play to continue to it's fruition. Start a really obvious 10 second count, and hope that bails you out.
Anybody take exception to that? :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1