![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Ok, here's the final list. I sent it this morning. It'll be fun to see if any of these make it to the book.
PLAY: (a) A1 or (b) B1 is preparing to shoot the second of two FTs. While A1 is holding the ball, Coach A tells the official, "I want a TO if s/he makes it." A1's FT is successful. Without any additional request from the coach, the official grants a TO to Team A. Is the official correct? PLAY: A1 is closely guarded by B1. A2 is momentarily positioned between A1 and B1, as A1 goes around A2's screen. B1 is still within six feet of A1. Official continues the 5-second count. Is the official correct? PLAY: A1 is closely guarded by B1. A2 steps between A1 and B1 and holds a position between them. B1 is still within six feet of A1. Official continues the 5-second count. Is the official correct? PLAY: Team A scores a successful field goal. While B1 is holding the ball for the ensuing throw-in, A2 and B2 are charged with a double foul. Official puts the ball in play at the point of interruption and allows A1 to make the throw-in from anywhere along the endline. Is the official correct? PLAY: A1 dives to the floor and secures control of the ball. A1's momentum causes him/her to roll over while sliding on the floor. Official rules this a traveling violation. Is the official correct? PLAY: The clock is stopped with 50.3 seconds showing. Team A is awarded a designated spot throw-in. A1 releases the throw-in and (a) the ball is immediately kicked by B1 or (b) the ball is first touched by A2 who is standing out of bounds. After the violation, the clock shows 49.6 seconds. The official rules the clock should not have started and directs the timer to reset the game clock to 50.3 seconds. Is the official correct? PLAY: Team A is awarded a throw-in on the endline under its own basket. While A1 is holding the ball for the throw-in, A2 falls to his/her hands and knees and starts barking like a dog. As Team B's players are distracted by A2, A1 passes to A3 for an uncontested lay-up. Official rules this a legal play. Is the official correct? PLAY: A held ball is called and the alternating possession arrow favors Team A. While A1 is holding the ball for the throw-in, A2 and B2 are charged with a double foul. Official rules that the point of interruption is the alternating possession throw-in and instructs the table to switch the arrow after A1's throw-in. Is the official correct? PLAY: After a time-out following a made basket by team B with 4.2 seconds left in a period, A1 is OOB on the endline for the throw-in. A1 throws the ball to A2 who is also OOB on the same endline. The timer erroneously starts the clock when A2 touches the ball. A2 immediately throws a pass to A3 inbounds at approximately center court. Immediately after A3 catches the ball, the horn sounds to end the period. The official gives team A a throw-in at the designated spot closest to where A3 caught the ball in-bounds and resets the clock to show 3.2 seconds left. Is the official correct? PLAY: A1 jumps to attempt a try for goal. While airborne, the ball slips from A1's hands and travels straight up. A1 catches the ball and returns to the floor. Official rules this was a fumble and player control was lost, so there is no traveling violation. Is the official correct? PLAY: The official observes blood on A1's uniform jersey. The blood is (a) recent/wet or (b) old/dry. The trainer assures the official that the blood cannot be transferred to any other player. The official rules that A1 may continue to use the jersey. Is the official correct?
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Anyway, good list. I like it as if I had compiled it myself.
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
|
Quote:
![]() Glad you liked the list, tho.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
http://www.bartleby.com/64/C001/033.html
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Even tho Dan couldn't care less.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
"I could care less" is a sarcastic abbreviation for "As if I could care less", or the more likely "Like I could care less". There is no punctuation for sarcasm, unfortunately. When will smilies be added to the grammar books?
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The Holt Handbook, 4th Edition, says: "When used as a preposition, as indicates equivalency or identity [my emphasis]. 'After classes he works as a manager of a fast-food restaurant'. "Like, however, indicates resemblance but never identity [my emphasis]. 'Writers like Carl Sandburg appear once in a generation.'" Barks like a dog clearly indicates resemblance, not equivalency or identity. The Hodges' Harbrace College Handbook, 7th Edition, says: "In general usage, like functions as a preposition; as and as if (or as though) function as conjunctions. Although widely used in conversation and in public speaking, like as a conjunction is still controversial in a formal context....In such elliptical construcions as the following, however, the conjunction like is appropriate, even in formal context. 'He is attracted to blondes like a moth to lights.'" This again indicates resemblance, not equivalency or identity. Hodges' Harbrace defines a preposition as "a function word that always has an object, which is usually a noun or a pronoun; the preposition with its object (and any modifiers) is called a prepositional phrase." In barks like a dog, dog is the object of the prepositional phrase and like is the preposition (function word) that describes the barking. Of course, I suspect no one really give a sh!t.
Last edited by Corndog89; Fri Jul 07, 2006 at 12:51am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Actually no one gives a sh!t.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
A1 is holding the ball while standing out of bounds during a throw-in. (a) A1 extends the ball across the boundary plane and A2 (a TEAMMATE) touches the ball, but does not take if from A1's hands. or (b) A2 (a TEAMMATE) reaches through the boundary plane and touches the ball, but does not take it from A1's hands.
In both cases, A2 then ceases contact with the ball and A1 makes a throw-in pass to A3. Has a throw-in violation been committed? Just don't ask Tony!
Last edited by Nevadaref; Thu Jul 06, 2006 at 04:01pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
) said it was.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Beyond the Case Book | tcannizzo | Softball | 4 | Mon May 08, 2006 03:11pm |
| Case Book 4.43.3 A | OldCoachNewRef | Basketball | 16 | Wed Nov 10, 2004 10:41am |
| Case Book 10.5.3 Sit. B ?? | Buckeyes | Football | 2 | Sun Aug 08, 2004 07:52pm |
| Case Book 10.3.6 | APHP | Basketball | 3 | Fri Oct 31, 2003 11:43pm |
| Case Book | fletch_irwin_m | Basketball | 5 | Sat Feb 08, 2003 02:40pm |