![]() |
|
|||
|
thank you sir.
RULE NO. 12 Section I--Types a. A player shall not hold, push, charge into, impede the progress of an oppo-nent by extending a hand, forearm, leg or knee or by bending the body into a posi-tion that is not normal. Contact that results in the re-routing of an opponent is a foul which must be called immediately. http://www.nba.com/analysis/rules_12...av=ArticleList Actually, that rule applies to the defender, not the ball carrier. If you look in same rule 12, but section II - by dribbler. it doesnt speak about that 'stiff arm'. ok. so let me switch up the comment a little bit. ok, 'stiff arm' may have been too strong of a description. Look at the photo below. HOWEVER, ignore the hand on payton's thigh. ![]() Imagine the touching palm was facing out instead on his thigh. would that drive constitute as a foul? i just cant imagine driving to the hole limp arm.... so instead of a 'stiff arm', it's more like a guarded, flexing bicep/tricep move.... thoughts?
__________________
_________________ I am NOT a ref.
|
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Stiff Arm Legal | Ed Hickland | Football | 3 | Thu Nov 16, 2000 10:12pm |