Okay so I got into a correctible error situation, and did I handle it correctly? You decide...
My partner called a foul, sent the "victim" to the line for one-and-one. I step into the lane, signal and verbalize one-and-one, bounce the ball, table buzzes. "Should be two shots." "Are you sure, last foul was only number eight..." "We told you wrong, last foul was number nine" okay, so two shots. Misses first, misses second, shooter's team gets rebound, makes shot. Fouler's team grabs ball, inbounds, ball goes down court on a long pass, pass is tipped, bounces, joggles, flies out of bounds (off of whom?). Table buzzes. "Actually last free throw should have been one-and-one, we had recounted and discovered we were wrong in the correction."
Lightbulb in head lights up: CORRECTIBLE ERROR: Awarding an unmerited free throw. Partner and I grapple verbally about what to do. In the end, we took away made basket, used the arrow to put the ball back into play.
At the next time out, I asked the table, did they get it straightened out? She explained what happened. When we called the foul, she had looked at the running foul part of the book, and buzzed because she had ten fouls checked off. But as the free throws were being shot a coach went to the table and said his records only showed nine fouls. The table person went back and could only find nine fouls in the individual-player part of the book, so had buzzed the second time.
Later, I look in the rule book, and see that we should not have taken away the made basket. What about the arrow, is that part right? We would have used the arrow without the interruption, so we just went ahead with that. Which part of the book has authority, the running foul part, or the individual-player part?
|