The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 05, 2006, 02:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 348
unusual play

This should be quick Q and A:

First of two shot free throw. Two players from each team simultaneously violate. Watcha got.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 05, 2006, 02:38pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,927
Quote:
Originally Posted by refTN
This should be quick Q and A:

First of two shot free throw. Two players from each team simultaneously violate. Watcha got.
From my learnings, if the same type of violation (B2 & A2 into lane too soon) make the decision who violated first drawing opponent with him.

If distinct violations, B1 in lane too soon and A1 crosses 3-pt line early: double violation go to 2nd free. Or how about, B1 in lane too soon and A1 shoots an airball: Double violation

No NFHS rulebook handy, but check Rule 9 Sect 2 Art 4 for NCAA.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Wed Apr 05, 2006 at 02:54pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 05, 2006, 04:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
If they are truly simultaneous, then you wipe the first FT and shoot the second as normal.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 05, 2006, 06:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
just to stir the pot -- double simultaneous violation on the first of 2 why would we waive it off -- no advantage gained.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 05, 2006, 06:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee
just to stir the pot -- double simultaneous violation on the first of 2 why would we waive it off -- no advantage gained.
Because that's the rule. If both violations are lane violations, and one comes first, then you only penalize the first. But if both occur at the same time (simultaneous), you wave off the basket and either (1) shoot the second FT or (2) go to the arrow if there are no more FTs to be shot.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 05, 2006, 07:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Why would there be a double violation on the first of two? Where are the players going?
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 05, 2006, 07:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 348
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Why would there be a double violation on the first of two? Where are the players going?
players could think one and one, ref could give false info, etc. You know kids are crazy.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 06, 2006, 12:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Is it two from each team violating, for a total of four violations, and they're all simultaneous? I'll worry about that after Jesus comes back.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 06, 2006, 01:49am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
Is it two from each team violating, for a total of four violations, and they're all simultaneous?
Yup, actually you could have simultaneous lane line violations on A1 and A2, and B1,B2, B3 and B4. What's the call for 4 violations versus two violations, all simultaneous?

What's the call if B3's simultaneous lane line violation above was also disconcertion?

Let Jesus worry about those too.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 06, 2006, 07:41am
MABO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MB, Canada
Posts: 796
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckElias
Because that's the rule. If both violations are lane violations, and one comes first, then you only penalize the first. But if both occur at the same time (simultaneous), you wave off the basket and either (1) shoot the second FT or (2) go to the arrow if there are no more FTs to be shot.
I know its the rule and its what I follow. I feel it penalizes the shooting team regardless. I try as best I can to determine if one player or the other violated first or drew the other player into a violation. It just seems a little more fair to have the penalty fit should the shooting team lose the shot attempt. JMO, its not always possible to do this, and thats why the rule is there.
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!"

All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free.

Last edited by SmokeEater; Thu Apr 06, 2006 at 07:43am.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 06, 2006, 07:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally Posted by SmokeEater
I know its the rule and its what I follow. I feel it penalizes the shooting team regardless.
I'm sorry. I misunderstood your question. I thought you were unclear on the rule. I agree that its application may seem unfair at times. If the offense violates, they lose the FT. If the offense and defense violate at the same time, they lose the FT, but there's no penalty to the defense. The only time the defense is penalized if they're the first to violate. So in two of the three possibilities, the offense is penalized and the defense is not.

Not sure how else to do it, tho. I also agree that the best thing to do is try as often as possible to determine who violated first, and avoid the double violation if possible.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 06, 2006, 08:11am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckElias
I also agree that the best thing to do is try as often as possible to determine who violated first, and avoid the double violation if possible.
Naw, can't agree. Of course, I'm a disagreeable cuss anyway.

Just call the game by the rules and forget about trying to make any kind of personal decision as to what's fair or not. Looking for an excuse to get away from calling a double-violation is wrong. That's not fair to the defensive team; they never wrote the rule. If it's that close to a double violation, just call the damn thing and quit trying to impose your own philosophy on the game.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 06, 2006, 08:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally Posted by Me
I also agree that the best thing to do is try as often as possible to determine who violated first, and avoid the double violation if possible.
Naw, can't agree. Of course, I'm a disagreeable cuss anyway.
You can't agree with concentrating on determining who violated first? I'm not saying to make one up, if you're not sure. I'm saying work on catching the first one, b/c there almost always is a first one.

You shouldn't be reading this anyway. It's almost time for your nap, isn't it?
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 06, 2006, 08:16am
MABO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MB, Canada
Posts: 796
Thanks JR for your input. We can always count on you to impose your philosophy on all of us. I agree that if its that close then call it like the rule says. I still feel if at all possible it is best to "try" to determine if someone violated first, especially if the shooting team is going to lose their shot attempt. This is my opinion, as you have said in the past, I am entitled to it. You may not agree with it, but I am allowed to express it.
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!"

All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 06, 2006, 08:26am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by SmokeEater
Thanks JR for your input. We can always count on you to impose your philosophy on all of us.
SmokeEater, if it's not too much trouble, please go screw yourself. I wasn't trying to impose my philosophy on you or anybody else. I was giving my opinion, and my opinion only. If you don't like that, then that's just too freaking bad.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
unusual play - need your help sc/nc ref Basketball 10 Wed Feb 15, 2006 01:42pm
Unusual play BigUmpJohn Softball 3 Wed Nov 10, 2004 11:11am
Unusual Play Gregg U Football 9 Thu Aug 08, 2002 12:24am
Unusual Double Play whiskers_ump Softball 1 Fri Mar 22, 2002 02:03pm
Unusual Play whiskers_ump Softball 7 Sun Apr 29, 2001 08:10pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1