![]() |
|
|
|||
What's the rule???
I overheard two of my colleagues at lunch talking about basketball. I'm not sure if either of them know that I officiate. They were talking about a player diving on a loose ball. Their question was this: once possession is established by this player on the floor, may he/she begin a dribble and get up? Does anyone have the rules reference for this??
__________________
Nate |
|
|||
Yes it is legal. The only rule reference I can give you is to show me where it says you can travel during a legal dribble? You will not find one because if you are dribbling you cannot travel.
Peace |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Nate |
|
|||
The case book says that you can't gain possession while on the floor, place the ball on the floor, get up and then regain possession.
It's perfectly legal to begin a dribble, just as long as you don't lift your pivot knee before releasing the ball. ![]()
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
Quote:
That's what I thought. I knew there was something in there about gaining possession while on the floor and then beginning a dribble. Thanks.
__________________
Nate |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|