The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   What's the rule??? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/25860-whats-rule.html)

Nate1224hoops Fri Mar 31, 2006 12:46pm

What's the rule???
 
I overheard two of my colleagues at lunch talking about basketball. I'm not sure if either of them know that I officiate. They were talking about a player diving on a loose ball. Their question was this: once possession is established by this player on the floor, may he/she begin a dribble and get up? Does anyone have the rules reference for this??

Nate1224hoops Fri Mar 31, 2006 12:49pm

Sorry I seem to have misplaced my rulebook. Thanks

JRutledge Fri Mar 31, 2006 12:53pm

Yes it is legal. The only rule reference I can give you is to show me where it says you can travel during a legal dribble? You will not find one because if you are dribbling you cannot travel.

Peace

Nate1224hoops Fri Mar 31, 2006 12:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge
Yes it is legal. The only rule reference I can give you is to show me where it says you can travel during a legal dribble? You will not find one because if you are dribbling you cannot travel.

Peace

I thought there was something in the case book. My bad.

BktBallRef Fri Mar 31, 2006 01:15pm

The case book says that you can't gain possession while on the floor, place the ball on the floor, get up and then regain possession.

It's perfectly legal to begin a dribble, just as long as you don't lift your pivot knee before releasing the ball. :)

Nate1224hoops Fri Mar 31, 2006 01:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
The case book says that you can't gain possession while on the floor, place the ball on the floor, get up and then regain possession.

It's perfectly legal to begin a dribble, just as long as you don't lift your pivot knee before releasing the ball. :)


That's what I thought. I knew there was something in there about gaining possession while on the floor and then beginning a dribble. Thanks.

zebraman Fri Mar 31, 2006 01:29pm

See Case PLay 4.43.5 Sitch B

A1 dives for a loose ball and slides after gaining control. A1 is in a position either on his/her back or stomach. What can A1 do without violating?
Ruling: A1 may pass, shoot, start a dribble or call time-out. Once A1 has the ball and is no longer sliding, he/she may not roll over. If flat on his/her back, A1 may sit up without violating. Any attempt to get to the feet is traveling unless A1 is dribbling. Is is also traveling if A1 puts the ball on the floor, then rises and is first to touch the ball.

Z

jbduke Fri Mar 31, 2006 06:43pm

Nate,

You're probably going to go Tarrentino on me for this, but I just can't not say this. For someone such as yourself to write so confidently about how officials at some of the highest levels should be doing their job, and then to get into flame wars with veterans who differ with you, this is a really, really elementary case.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:53am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1