The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 13, 2000, 12:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 31
Post

To answer your question, if a player uses an actual "jump stop" as defined in the rules, then no, the player may not pivot and you have a travel. But be sure you have jump stop.

Rule 4-43-2-a-1 says "A player who catches the ball while moving or dribbling may stop, and establish a pivot foot . . . if both feet are off the floor and the player lands . . . simultaneously on both feet, either foot may be the pivot."

And Rule 4-43-2-a-3 says ""A player who catches the ball while moving or dribbling may stop, and establish a pivot foot . . . if both feet are off the floor and the player lands . . . on one foot, the player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both. Neither foot can be a pivot in this case."

In the second case, which is an actual jump stop, Rule 4-43-4-a says, "After coming to a stop when neither foot can be a pivot . . . one or both feet may be lifted, but may not be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal."

If they lift and return it to the floor (pivot), it's a travel.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1