The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Travel or not Travel (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/257-travel-not-travel.html)

bjbbau Thu Jan 13, 2000 12:11am

A1 is dribbling and comes to a jump stop with both feet landing on the floor. A1 the moves 1 foot and uses the other one as a pivot foot before A1 passes the ball. Is this considered travel?

Todd (Mike) Mullen Thu Jan 13, 2000 12:32am

To answer your question, if a player uses an actual "jump stop" as defined in the rules, then no, the player may not pivot and you have a travel. But be sure you have jump stop.

Rule 4-43-2-a-1 says "A player who catches the ball while moving or dribbling may stop, and establish a pivot foot . . . if both feet are off the floor and the player lands . . . simultaneously on both feet, either foot may be the pivot."

And Rule 4-43-2-a-3 says ""A player who catches the ball while moving or dribbling may stop, and establish a pivot foot . . . if both feet are off the floor and the player lands . . . on one foot, the player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both. Neither foot can be a pivot in this case."

In the second case, which is an actual jump stop, Rule 4-43-4-a says, "After coming to a stop when neither foot can be a pivot . . . one or both feet may be lifted, but may not be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal."

If they lift and return it to the floor (pivot), it's a travel.

Jeremy Hohn Fri Jan 14, 2000 07:03am

Mr Mullen, I applaud your thorough answer, and what I always do to help on the travel call is to say to myself silently, left, right or both on every catch to remind myself which foot or feet is/are the pivot(s). On the jump stop, if it is indeed simultaneus contact of both feet, niether can be picked up and then retouched to the floor.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1