The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 22, 2006, 11:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 329
Send a message via Yahoo to drinkeii
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Nope! Once you whistle and kill the play, you have to grant the TO. Yeah, you just screwed the pooch but the ball is dead and Team B wants a TO. You have to give it to them.
That is the way I understood it.

However, this raises the problem with calling it an inadvertant whistle. From the way I understand the rules, this means you have to go to the arrow and give the ball to the team entitled to it under the AP procedure. Now, common sense says - IW, one team in possession clearly, give it back to them. Rules say IW, give it to the team entitled to by the arrow.

I don't think there are too many refs who will follow this rule, but what is everyone's take on it?
__________________
David A. Rinke II
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1