The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 14, 2006, 02:26pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Junker
Player caught the ball with both feet on the floor, jumped forward landing on both feet, and then went up for the shot. I called the travel and I shouldn't have.
Traveling was the right call.

NCAA rule 4-66-2-- "A player who catches the ball with both feet on the playing court may pivot, using either foot. when one foot is lifted, the other foot is the pivot foot".

NCAA rule 4-66-4(a)-- "After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot, the pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the playing court, before the ball is released on a pass or a try for goal".

Your player caught the ball with both feet on the floor. When he jumped, one foot had to be lifted and the other foot must have become the pivot foot. When he then landed on both feet, you has a player who jumped off his pivot foot and then landed with the ball without passing or shooting.

That's a travel.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1