The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 08, 2006, 05:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Re: Re: What is simultaneous?

[QUOTE]Originally posted by BadNewsRef
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:


Therefore, I would treat it as a false double foul and rule that you would shoot FTs as what you describe would not meet the definition of simultaneous fouls. Since the fouls will probably be called by different officials, you should have room to rule that one came after the other. You could possibly do this in the original situation as well.
You lost me on this one. Thought second half of a false double foul occurs after the ball is dead and before the clock starts:

Rule 4 Section 26 Art. 12. False double foul. A false double foul occurs when there are fouls
by both teams, the second of which occurs before the game clock is started
after it is stopped for the first but such that at least one of the attributes of
a double foul is absent.
B1 fouls A1 as whistled by the L.
A2 curses B2 as whistled by the T.

You're the official. You have discretion to judge that the foul by A2 occurs after the foul by B1.

Then it becomes a false double foul instead of a simlutaneous foul.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 08, 2006, 06:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 572
Or if you decide that A2 cursed first, you disregard the contact because now the ball is dead, and you only penalize if it was intentional or flagrant???
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 08, 2006, 06:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 572
But, going back to the original situation, do you disregard the intentional foul, report the two offenders, and go to POI?

Or do you report both fouls, but let the player offended by the intentional (A2) shoot free throws, and give team A the ball back nearest the spot of the foul?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 09, 2006, 08:52am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
This situation was mentioned to me last night before a game and I think I know the answer, but I want to run it by the forum. Very simple situation, I want to know the proper administration.

Simultaneous fouls: A1 fouls B1, B2 fouls A2. B2's foul is intentional.

Clearly simultaneous, clearly intentional. How do we administer?
This is from the NCAA rulebook: Rule 10 Sect 23 Art 2e

No free throws for:
1. Each common foul before the bonus rule takes effect.
2. A player-control personal foul.
3. A team-control foul.
4. A double personal foul or simultaneous personal foul, even
when one or both of the fouls are flagrant or intentional.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1