![]()  | 
	
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			This question is specifically for Men's NCAA rules...Once the 5 second count has begun on a throw-in, once the official has counted 4 seconds, but not yet 5 seconds, can a time-out still be granted?  If you can cite a specific reference to this scenario, that would be great.  Thanks!
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	 | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			The TO can be granted right up until the count reaches 5.  There's no specific rule to cite, b/c there's nothing prohibiting it.  
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
			
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			Thank you Chuck!  I thought so...someone at work told me that once the count reached 4 seconds, the time out couldn't be granted.  And since I am only familiar with NFHS rules, I just wanted to make sure, before I insisted that he was wrong  
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	 
		 | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			Wasn't that an old rule? don't remember what it was called, FIBA never used it. Once you've reached 80% of a count you can't grant a TO. I think it was mentioned in the old rules topic
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
			
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	All posts I do refers to FIBA rules  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			I think your right Crazy.  I seem to remember something from years past where you had up to a certain count to call a TO as well. I just can't remember exactly. 
		
		
		
		
		
		
			[Edited by SmokeEater on Mar 6th, 2006 at 02:12 PM] 
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!" All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free.  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			There was an 80% rule in place decades ago. If you reached 80% of a violation count--i.e. 4 out of 5 second on a throw-in or closely-guarded count, or 8 out of 10 seconds in a backcourt count-- you ignored a TO request. Stoopid rule. Didn't last long.
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	 | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			Another question regarding the 5 sec count on a throw in.  If you count 5 and at approximately the same time you are starting to blow your whistle the inbounder starts to request a timeout, do you give them the timeout or go with the 5 sec violation? 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	Key is you have already reached 5 in this scenario. Had this happen and went with the 5 sec violation but figured I would run it by you guys.  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			since you are blowing your whistle you have a choice to make - I really hate to not reward good defense but if they request the time out I usuallly grant it.
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
			
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	The trouble with officials is they just don't care who wins.  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 Quote: 
	
  | 
![]()  | 
	
	
| Bookmarks | 
		
  | 
	
		 |