The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Mon Mar 06, 2006, 12:12am
Official Forum Member

Smile

This is my first year and I have done quite a few adult rec league games and now am doing AAU tournaments. My question for you more experience folks is-- I seem to have more trouble calling games where the level of play might be a little lower but the players are very aggressive with lots of tie-ups and rough play. In those games it seems there are calls that can be made on every posession but then you would just be marching back and forth between free throw lines. Or do you find that if you just start calling the games really tight the players back off. Thanks, Mike
Old Mon Mar 06, 2006, 12:17am
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally posted by Firemikeb
This is my first year and I have done quite a few adult rec league games and now am doing AAU tournaments. My question for you more experience folks is-- I seem to have more trouble calling games where the level of play might be a little lower but the players are very aggressive with lots of tie-ups and rough play. In those games it seems there are calls that can be made on every posession but then you would just be marching back and forth between free throw lines. Or do you find that if you just start calling the games really tight the players back off. Thanks, Mike
You have to set the tone early, make the players adjust to your calling. If you don't set the tone early it will be too late to do anything later in the game. Players will learn fast what you are going to call and should play cleaner.
Old Mon Mar 06, 2006, 12:28am
Official Forum Member

Thanks, that is kind of what I thought I should do but especially with the little kids, they are like bowling balls going through pins sometimes. Thanks, Mike
Old Mon Mar 06, 2006, 02:55am
Official Forum Member

Smile