The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 28, 2006, 09:12am
Nu1 Nu1 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 132
I saw this (on tv) as it happened. I don't know if I think a violation should have been called or not. It depends on what actually happened between the Rutgers player and the official administering. Although I definitely agree with Nevada that the official was doing the "my fault" tap.

So...if there was no timeout request...I wonder if some of those conversations went like... OFFICIAL: Hey coach (Rutgers), either your player just called a timeout or it's a violation and UConn's ball. RUTGER'S COACH: She called timeout. I would be a little upset if I was on UConn's side, though.

Sidenote: I know most of the time the announcers are clueless, and I did only watch the last 6 minutes of this game, but these announcers seemed to be using good terms (and understanding them) like "displacement." But, they had a lapse on this play as they were both saying the Rutger's player was trying to receive the pass and the official was in the way...as if it were a legal play. I don't recall them saying anything about it being a spot throw-in and therefore illegal for the other Rutger's player to be OOB. Of course I could have missed it because my 11 year old son was talking in my ear..."She can't do that!"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:50pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1