The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 17, 2006, 10:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 169
A veteran official, prior to a pre-game, discussed this play:

End of game scenario (seconds left). Shot by A-1 and a miss. Four players, 2 "A" Team, 2 "B" team jump for the rebound. The ball is tipped into the basket as the horn sounds to end the game. No discussion regarding the score at the time or whether we are going into overtime. The official now asks if the goal counts. I say sure and he replies maybe not. "Why?" I ask. He replies that if a defender tapped the ball into the goal, without an offensive "A" player touching it, the goal does not count. We are discussing NFHS Rules. That's a new one to me and it was to the other official in the room. Anyone ever hear of this?
__________________
"Don't measure yourself by what you have accomplished, but by what you should have accomplished with your ability."
- John Wooden
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1