View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 18, 2006, 12:15am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
That scenario came out of an NCAA game. John Clougherty, ACC Director of Officials, talked about it in this thread.

http://www.officialforum.com/thread/24968

It happened in the Virginia Tech/Bowling Green game. The defense tapped a missed shot down low just before the buzzer and it was in the air when the red light came on. It went in after the light came on. Unfortunately, the officials counted it; they didn't notice at that time that the tap came off the defense and not the offense. The NCAA rule is basically the same as the NFHS one- the ball is dead on the light in NCAA unless it a try or tip by the offense.

If you go way back and can find it, there's a thread posted that shows the film of that play.
Reply With Quote