The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 16, 2006, 11:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 60
A1 in front court has ball knocked in the air toward the backcourt by B1. A1 jumps from his front court, catches the ball in the air, and lands in the backcourt. Is this a backcourt violation? Why or why not. Please cite rule reference.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 16, 2006, 11:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Send a message via AIM to Back In The Saddle Send a message via MSN to Back In The Saddle Send a message via Yahoo to Back In The Saddle
Yes. NFHS 9-9, 4-4, 4-12, 4-35

Sorry, missed the "why/why not" part. A had team control in the front court. Even though B1 knocked it away, A1 was still the last to touch the ball before it went to backcourt, and the first to touch it after it went to backcourt. Tweet.

[Edited by Back In The Saddle on Feb 16th, 2006 at 11:11 AM]
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 16, 2006, 12:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
Quote:
Originally posted by Back In The Saddle
Yes. NFHS 9-9, 4-4, 4-12, 4-35

Sorry, missed the "why/why not" part. A had team control in the front court. Even though B1 knocked it away, A1 was still the last to touch the ball before it went to backcourt, and the first to touch it after it went to backcourt. Tweet.

[Edited by Back In The Saddle on Feb 16th, 2006 at 11:11 AM]
"Team control in the frontcourt" is a slightly misleading phrase. One does need team control and the ball has to have frontcourt status, but consider the following example.

A1, standing in A's backcourt, throws a bounce pass to A2, who is also standing in the backcourt. The ball bounces in the frontcourt. (A1 throws the pass with some spin on the ball.) This is a backcourt violation, even though no A player ever set foot in the frontcourt.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 16, 2006, 01:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 508
Quote:
Originally posted by Lotto
Quote:
Originally posted by Back In The Saddle
Yes. NFHS 9-9, 4-4, 4-12, 4-35

Sorry, missed the "why/why not" part. A had team control in the front court. Even though B1 knocked it away, A1 was still the last to touch the ball before it went to backcourt, and the first to touch it after it went to backcourt. Tweet.

[Edited by Back In The Saddle on Feb 16th, 2006 at 11:11 AM]
"Team control in the frontcourt" is a slightly misleading phrase. One does need team control and the ball has to have frontcourt status, but consider the following example.

A1, standing in A's backcourt, throws a bounce pass to A2, who is also standing in the backcourt. The ball bounces in the frontcourt. (A1 throws the pass with some spin on the ball.) This is a backcourt violation, even though no A player ever set foot in the frontcourt.
""Team control in the frontcourt" is a slightly misleading phrase. One does need team control and the ball has to have frontcourt status, but consider the following example."

Good point. Your way allows for 9-9-2.
__________________
Sarchasm: the gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the recipient.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1