The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 16, 2006, 06:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
A player can ALWAYS recover a fumble. However, if that player had already dribbled, then he may not dribble again. This player may pivot. The only time a player with the ball may not pivot is after a specific type of jump stop.

If the player throws what was intended to be a pass, but the teammate vacates before receiving it, that player may legally go get the ball if it bounces on the floor first because it meets the definition of a dribble. (There was an NFHS interp on this last year.) Of course, in this case, if the player had already dribbled, then a double dribble violation has occurred. If the pass doesn't bounce, then this is an illegal dribble violation.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1