The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   T after 4th Quarter Horn (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/24901-t-after-4th-quarter-horn.html)

BktBallRef Sat Feb 11, 2006 09:59am

Quote:

Originally posted by JugglingReferee
In BBR's sitch, A would just need to hit 1 T-foul FT to lead the game, and if that one was the first, the 2nd is not even attempted!
Correct. The game doesn't end just because the horn sounds. Regulation time ends when the horn sounds AND all activity from the 4th qtr. has ended.

lmeadski Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:36am

clear this up for me then...
 
In this scenario, the T is assessed in the 4th and the kid goes to the line (if it was clearly post buzzer, the T should be assessed in OT, correct?)? If a player releases a shot before the buzzer, but, gets hit on the way down (still part of his shot) after the horn blows, wouldn't he go to the line as a continuation of his shot (ergo, part of the 4th qtr)?

[Edited by lmeadski on Feb 11th, 2006 at 10:39 AM]

BktBallRef Sat Feb 11, 2006 11:05am

If the player is fouled, horn sounds, T occurs, then the T is part of the 4th qtr. because the 4th qtr. doesn't end until the last FT is shot. The FTs determine whether we go to OT or not.

Only when the game is tied after all 4th qtr. activity do we have OT.

refTN Sat Feb 11, 2006 12:35pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by refTN
decee is right. Anything after the horn for regulation is considered overtime.
Not true. Try this scenario, refTN.

A trails, 1 second left, A1 shoots, gets fouled, horn goes off. Coach B yells that's horse****. T. A1 hits both FTs for the shooting foul to tie the game. Now what?

I am not understanding this that well. When does the coach yell this. The way I think you are saying this is that when A goes to the line that counts as the 4th quearter and hence any T's given before the last free throw are considered part of the 4th. Am I understanding that correctly?

tnroundballref Sat Feb 11, 2006 12:42pm

Had this happen in a game this year....

Team A trails by two points with .3 to go in the game. Team B has ball for a throw in. Team B inbounds the ball right in front of Team A's bench - horn goes off - team B's player (in front of Team A's bench) bounces one to the rafters and say's "what now Bitc**s?"

What do you got ?

BktBallRef Sat Feb 11, 2006 01:23pm

Quote:

Originally posted by refTN
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by refTN
decee is right. Anything after the horn for regulation is considered overtime.
Not true. Try this scenario, refTN.

A trails, 1 second left, A1 shoots, gets fouled, horn goes off. Coach B yells that's horse****. T. A1 hits both FTs for the shooting foul to tie the game. Now what?

I am not understanding this that well. When does the coach yell this. The way I think you are saying this is that when A goes to the line that counts as the 4th quearter and hence any T's given before the last free throw are considered part of the 4th. Am I understanding that correctly?

Yes, that's correct. The 4th qtr. does not end until all activity from the 4th qtr. ends. The horn does not end the 4th qtr. Onloy after the 4th qtr. ends can we determine if OT is required.

BktBallRef Sat Feb 11, 2006 01:26pm

Quote:

Originally posted by tnroundballref
Had this happen in a game this year....

Team A trails by two points with .3 to go in the game. Team B has ball for a throw in. Team B inbounds the ball right in front of Team A's bench - horn goes off - team B's player (in front of Team A's bench) bounces one to the rafters and say's "what now Bitc**s?"

What do you got ?

If you call a T on B, then A1 goes to the line to tie the game. If he misses the first or second FT, the game is over. If he hits both, you go to OT. Start the OT with a jump ball.

mplagrow Sat Feb 11, 2006 01:30pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by tnroundballref
Had this happen in a game this year....

Team A trails by two points with .3 to go in the game. Team B has ball for a throw in. Team B inbounds the ball right in front of Team A's bench - horn goes off - team B's player (in front of Team A's bench) bounces one to the rafters and say's "what now Bitc**s?"

What do you got ?

If you call a T on B, then A1 goes to the line to tie the game. If he misses the first or second FT, the game is over. If he hits both, you go to OT. Start the OT with a jump ball.

Absolutely. You're still on the floor, you have to make that call.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1