![]() |
If the horn goes off to end the 4th quarter and the score is tied, follwed by a comment by coach A that "That's fukking bullllss****!!!" because he thought his shooter was fouled on the final shot at the buzzer, do you shoot the FTs to start the OT period, or do you shoot the T and then if they player makes one, game over?
|
after buzzer
do it in the overtime.
|
Imagine this.
Dying seconds of 4th, tie game... <li>shot goes up</li> <li>contact on shooter</li> <li>no whistle</li> <li>buzzer</li> <li>coach swears, as above</li> <li>try is unsuccessful</li> Whaddya got? Edit: deecee: I'm trying to get him thinking along some lines instead of just telling him the answer. No spoon-feeding from me tonight! In other words, give a man a fish, he's got food for a day. Teach a man to fish, he's got food for life! :D [Edited by JugglingReferee on Feb 10th, 2006 at 07:16 PM] |
that
doesnt really answer his question...if he knew he wouldnt be here
|
decee is right. Anything after the horn for regulation is considered overtime.
|
Quote:
|
JR,
Did the shot get off before the horn? If yes, then shoot the free throws as part of regulation. If not, no foul. We get set up for OT. |
Quote:
|
most likely
unless it was a bludgeoning -- im passing
|
Re: most likely
Quote:
Or as Juggler asked, if the coach gets the "T" after the horn but before the airborne shooter comes down and/or the shot ends, when do you shoot those FT's for that "T"? As part of that quarter or to start the OT? The point that Juggler was making was that to answer W&S's original question correctly, you have to know the status of the ball(live or dead) when the coach received the "T". It could be either, even if the horn sounded before the "T". And, for the record, RefTN's statement above saying that "anything after the horn for regulation is considered overtime' is wrong. It's true for some cases only. [Edited by Jurassic Referee on Feb 10th, 2006 at 09:17 PM] |
until
the shot attempt is over so until the ball hits the floor or goes in the basket or over the backboard, etc.. ball is live and foul on the shooter will be 2 shots in the 4th qtr.
as for the T -- i hope this is not something an official will call as part of the 4th |
Re: until
Quote:
If the T was called before the try ended, deecee, then it should be shot as part of the 4th quarter. It <b>was</b> part of the 4th quarter, by rule- i.e. R5-6-3(b) and 5-6-4. |
Quote:
A trails, 1 second left, A1 shoots, gets fouled, horn goes off. Coach B yells that's horse****. T. A1 hits both FTs for the shooting foul to tie the game. Now what? |
Quote:
|
JR is right again, both times.
I was trying to to illustrate the point of knowing the status of the ball. He is also correct saying that the T is part of the 4th. The official has no authority to rule it part of OT. (Unless he has really really bad judgment. :D) mplagrow: I like that term, the "verbal continuation T." ;) In BBR's sitch, A would just need to hit 1 T-foul FT to lead the game, and if that one was the first, the 2nd is not even attempted! |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23am. |