The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   T after 4th Quarter Horn (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/24901-t-after-4th-quarter-horn.html)

WhistlesAndStripes Fri Feb 10, 2006 06:37pm

If the horn goes off to end the 4th quarter and the score is tied, follwed by a comment by coach A that "That's fukking bullllss****!!!" because he thought his shooter was fouled on the final shot at the buzzer, do you shoot the FTs to start the OT period, or do you shoot the T and then if they player makes one, game over?

deecee Fri Feb 10, 2006 06:42pm

after buzzer
 
do it in the overtime.

JugglingReferee Fri Feb 10, 2006 07:01pm

Imagine this.

Dying seconds of 4th, tie game...
<li>shot goes up</li>
<li>contact on shooter</li>
<li>no whistle</li>
<li>buzzer</li>
<li>coach swears, as above</li>
<li>try is unsuccessful</li>

Whaddya got?

Edit: deecee: I'm trying to get him thinking along some lines instead of just telling him the answer. No spoon-feeding from me tonight!

In other words, give a man a fish, he's got food for a day. Teach a man to fish, he's got food for life! :D

[Edited by JugglingReferee on Feb 10th, 2006 at 07:16 PM]

deecee Fri Feb 10, 2006 07:07pm

that
 
doesnt really answer his question...if he knew he wouldnt be here

refTN Fri Feb 10, 2006 07:18pm

decee is right. Anything after the horn for regulation is considered overtime.

Jurassic Referee Fri Feb 10, 2006 08:22pm

Quote:

Originally posted by refTN
decee is right. Anything after the horn for regulation is considered overtime.
So.....if someone fouled an airborne shooter after the horn , you'd shoot the foul shot(s) in overtime? Or.....?

basketballen Fri Feb 10, 2006 08:30pm

JR,

Did the shot get off before the horn?

If yes, then shoot the free throws as part of regulation.

If not, no foul. We get set up for OT.

Jurassic Referee Fri Feb 10, 2006 08:56pm

Quote:

Originally posted by basketballen
JR,

Did the shot get off before the horn?

If yes, then shoot the free throws as part of regulation.

If not, no foul. We get set up for OT.

Allen, the shot had to be gone before the horn; it came from an airborne shooter.



deecee Fri Feb 10, 2006 09:01pm

most likely
 
unless it was a bludgeoning -- im passing

Jurassic Referee Fri Feb 10, 2006 09:14pm

Re: most likely
 
Quote:

Originally posted by deecee
unless it was a bludgeoning -- im passing
OK...if it is a bludgeoning on an airborne shooter after the horn, do you shoot the FT's as part of that quarter or to start the OT?

Or as Juggler asked, if the coach gets the "T" after the horn but before the airborne shooter comes down and/or the shot ends, when do you shoot those FT's for that "T"? As part of that quarter or to start the OT?

The point that Juggler was making was that to answer W&S's original question correctly, you have to know the status of the ball(live or dead) when the coach received the "T". It could be either, even if the horn sounded before the "T".

And, for the record, RefTN's statement above saying that "anything after the horn for regulation is considered overtime' is wrong. It's true for some cases only.



[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Feb 10th, 2006 at 09:17 PM]

deecee Fri Feb 10, 2006 09:27pm

until
 
the shot attempt is over so until the ball hits the floor or goes in the basket or over the backboard, etc.. ball is live and foul on the shooter will be 2 shots in the 4th qtr.

as for the T -- i hope this is not something an official will call as part of the 4th

Jurassic Referee Fri Feb 10, 2006 10:01pm

Re: until
 
Quote:

Originally posted by deecee
the shot attempt is over so until the ball hits the floor or goes in the basket or over the backboard, etc.. ball is live and foul on the shooter will be 2 shots in the 4th qtr.

<font color = red>as for the T -- i hope this is not something an official will call as part of the 4th </font>

Why wouldn't they if it <b>was</b> part of the 4th? :confused:

If the T was called before the try ended, deecee, then it should be shot as part of the 4th quarter. It <b>was</b> part of the 4th quarter, by rule- i.e. R5-6-3(b) and 5-6-4.


BktBallRef Fri Feb 10, 2006 10:45pm

Quote:

Originally posted by refTN
decee is right. Anything after the horn for regulation is considered overtime.
Not true. Try this scenario, refTN.

A trails, 1 second left, A1 shoots, gets fouled, horn goes off. Coach B yells that's horse****. T. A1 hits both FTs for the shooting foul to tie the game. Now what?

mplagrow Fri Feb 10, 2006 11:35pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by refTN
decee is right. Anything after the horn for regulation is considered overtime.
Not true. Try this scenario, refTN.

A trails, 1 second left, A1 shoots, gets fouled, horn goes off. Coach B yells that's horse****. T. A1 hits both FTs for the shooting foul to tie the game. Now what?

Verbal continuation call? Shoot two more and call it a day if one goes in?

JugglingReferee Sat Feb 11, 2006 04:58am

JR is right again, both times.

I was trying to to illustrate the point of knowing the status of the ball. He is also correct saying that the T is part of the 4th. The official has no authority to rule it part of OT. (Unless he has really really bad judgment. :D)

mplagrow: I like that term, the "verbal continuation T." ;) In BBR's sitch, A would just need to hit 1 T-foul FT to lead the game, and if that one was the first, the 2nd is not even attempted!

BktBallRef Sat Feb 11, 2006 09:59am

Quote:

Originally posted by JugglingReferee
In BBR's sitch, A would just need to hit 1 T-foul FT to lead the game, and if that one was the first, the 2nd is not even attempted!
Correct. The game doesn't end just because the horn sounds. Regulation time ends when the horn sounds AND all activity from the 4th qtr. has ended.

lmeadski Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:36am

clear this up for me then...
 
In this scenario, the T is assessed in the 4th and the kid goes to the line (if it was clearly post buzzer, the T should be assessed in OT, correct?)? If a player releases a shot before the buzzer, but, gets hit on the way down (still part of his shot) after the horn blows, wouldn't he go to the line as a continuation of his shot (ergo, part of the 4th qtr)?

[Edited by lmeadski on Feb 11th, 2006 at 10:39 AM]

BktBallRef Sat Feb 11, 2006 11:05am

If the player is fouled, horn sounds, T occurs, then the T is part of the 4th qtr. because the 4th qtr. doesn't end until the last FT is shot. The FTs determine whether we go to OT or not.

Only when the game is tied after all 4th qtr. activity do we have OT.

refTN Sat Feb 11, 2006 12:35pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by refTN
decee is right. Anything after the horn for regulation is considered overtime.
Not true. Try this scenario, refTN.

A trails, 1 second left, A1 shoots, gets fouled, horn goes off. Coach B yells that's horse****. T. A1 hits both FTs for the shooting foul to tie the game. Now what?

I am not understanding this that well. When does the coach yell this. The way I think you are saying this is that when A goes to the line that counts as the 4th quearter and hence any T's given before the last free throw are considered part of the 4th. Am I understanding that correctly?

tnroundballref Sat Feb 11, 2006 12:42pm

Had this happen in a game this year....

Team A trails by two points with .3 to go in the game. Team B has ball for a throw in. Team B inbounds the ball right in front of Team A's bench - horn goes off - team B's player (in front of Team A's bench) bounces one to the rafters and say's "what now Bitc**s?"

What do you got ?

BktBallRef Sat Feb 11, 2006 01:23pm

Quote:

Originally posted by refTN
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by refTN
decee is right. Anything after the horn for regulation is considered overtime.
Not true. Try this scenario, refTN.

A trails, 1 second left, A1 shoots, gets fouled, horn goes off. Coach B yells that's horse****. T. A1 hits both FTs for the shooting foul to tie the game. Now what?

I am not understanding this that well. When does the coach yell this. The way I think you are saying this is that when A goes to the line that counts as the 4th quearter and hence any T's given before the last free throw are considered part of the 4th. Am I understanding that correctly?

Yes, that's correct. The 4th qtr. does not end until all activity from the 4th qtr. ends. The horn does not end the 4th qtr. Onloy after the 4th qtr. ends can we determine if OT is required.

BktBallRef Sat Feb 11, 2006 01:26pm

Quote:

Originally posted by tnroundballref
Had this happen in a game this year....

Team A trails by two points with .3 to go in the game. Team B has ball for a throw in. Team B inbounds the ball right in front of Team A's bench - horn goes off - team B's player (in front of Team A's bench) bounces one to the rafters and say's "what now Bitc**s?"

What do you got ?

If you call a T on B, then A1 goes to the line to tie the game. If he misses the first or second FT, the game is over. If he hits both, you go to OT. Start the OT with a jump ball.

mplagrow Sat Feb 11, 2006 01:30pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by tnroundballref
Had this happen in a game this year....

Team A trails by two points with .3 to go in the game. Team B has ball for a throw in. Team B inbounds the ball right in front of Team A's bench - horn goes off - team B's player (in front of Team A's bench) bounces one to the rafters and say's "what now Bitc**s?"

What do you got ?

If you call a T on B, then A1 goes to the line to tie the game. If he misses the first or second FT, the game is over. If he hits both, you go to OT. Start the OT with a jump ball.

Absolutely. You're still on the floor, you have to make that call.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1