The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 12, 2000, 02:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 83
Post

Good question. My gut reaction was to let A1 shoot 1&1 and cancel the common foul by B2. However, since 2-10-4 only applies to unmerited free throws and those by the wrong player or wrong basket, 2-10-5 and 2-10-6 are the applicable rules:

ART. 5 . . . Points scored, consumed time and additional activity, which may occur prior to the recognition of an error, shall not be nullified...

ART. 6 . . . If an error is corrected, play shall be resumed from the point at which it was interrupted to rectify the error, unless it involves awarding a merited free throw(s) and there has been no change of team possession since the error was made, in which case play shall resume as after any free-throw attempt(s).


Assuming that "team possession" (which, BTW, i can't find defined in the Rule Book) hasn't changed because of B2's foul, play should resume after A1's free throws.

This means that you should let A2 shoot his 1&1 with the lane cleared first. Then let A1 shoot his 1&1 with the players lined up and resume from there...

Also, Team B's coach (or designated player) gets one free penalty hit of both the official scorekeeper and timer for causing his team to get screwed like this...
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1