The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Delayed Technical foul? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/24803-delayed-technical-foul.html)

icallfouls Fri Feb 10, 2006 03:56pm

T for flopping? NO
T for language? YES
Blocking foul on flopper? Its either a no call or a block.

If the player is going to take themself out of the play by laying on the ground and not being in a position to defend, let them. Defender is useless when laying on his back. A blocking foul or a no call in my opinion is the way to go.

If the kid flops out of enough plays when there is a no call, the coach will usually take the player out and refocus them. If the kid gets enough fouls called against him, he is coming out anyway.

[Edited by icallfouls on Feb 10th, 2006 at 04:04 PM]

FishinRef Fri Feb 10, 2006 04:09pm

Heys guys, one of last years POI's was a T for flopping, no warning necessary. This kid was supposedly warned several times.

I agree

T - for the flop
T - for the F word, (and that ain't Fishin')

Head to the showers young man!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

[Edited by FishinRef on Feb 10th, 2006 at 04:22 PM]

Jurassic Referee Fri Feb 10, 2006 04:25pm

Quote:

Originally posted by icallfouls
T for flopping? NO
T for language? YES
Blocking foul on flopper? YES Its either a no-call or a block.

If the player is going to take themself out of the play by laying on the ground and not being in a position to defend, let them. Defender is useless when laying on his back. The next time, call the blocking foul again, and again, etc.

Unfortunately, from a rules perspective, you can't do that.

According to the POE in last year's rule book, a flop is defined as a player <b>acting</b> as though he or she has been fouled when in actuality there has been <b>"no contact or incidental contact"</b>. That's why a flop is penalized under rule 10-3-7f- "<b>faking</b> being fouled".

The definition of a personal foul, as per rule 4-19-1, says that it "is a player foul which involves <b>illegal</b> contact with an opponent while the ball is live". Similarly, the definition of a block in rule 4-7-1 says that "blocking is <b>illegal personal contact</b>...". If there is "no contact or incidental contact", you cannot have a personal foul, whether that personal foul is also a block or not.

Ergo, the rules will <b>not</b> allow you to call a personal foul for blocking on a "flop". The only call that can possibly be made on a flop, by rule, is either a "T" or a no-call.

Iow, if you have illegal contact, you do <b>not</b> have a flop. On a play like this, you also judge whether that contact was illegal or not by using the other rules in the book, or by following the direction of case book plays like the one cited previously.

Never call anything that you can't explain or justify.

mplagrow Fri Feb 10, 2006 04:29pm

[QUOTE]Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
[B]
Quote:

Originally posted by icallfouls

Ergo, the rules will <b>not</b> allow you to call a personal foul for blocking on a "flop". The only call that can possibly be made on a flop, by rule, is either a "T" or a no-call.



Sure, sounds good, but who is Ergo? :D

icallfouls Fri Feb 10, 2006 04:44pm

[QUOTE]Originally posted by mplagrow
[B]
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by icallfouls

Ergo, the rules will <b>not</b> allow you to call a personal foul for blocking on a "flop". The only call that can possibly be made on a flop, by rule, is either a "T" or a no-call.



Sure, sounds good, but who is Ergo? :D


the quote containing ergo, was not mine, the credit goes to JR, maybe he knows ergo

icallfouls Fri Feb 10, 2006 04:53pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by icallfouls
T for flopping? NO
T for language? YES
Blocking foul on flopper? YES Its either a no-call or a block.

If the player is going to take themself out of the play by laying on the ground and not being in a position to defend, let them. Defender is useless when laying on his back. The next time, call the blocking foul again, and again, etc.

Unfortunately, from a rules perspective, you can't do that.

According to the POE in last year's rule book, a flop is defined as a player <b>acting</b> as though he or she has been fouled when in actuality there has been <b>"no contact or incidental contact"</b>. That's why a flop is penalized under rule 10-3-7f- "<b>faking</b> being fouled".

The definition of a personal foul, as per rule 4-19-1, says that it "is a player foul which involves <b>illegal</b> contact with an opponent while the ball is live". Similarly, the definition of a block in rule 4-7-1 says that "blocking is <b>illegal personal contact</b>...". If there is "no contact or incidental contact", you cannot have a personal foul, whether that personal foul is also a block or not.

Ergo, the rules will <b>not</b> allow you to call a personal foul for blocking on a "flop". The only call that can possibly be made on a flop, by rule, is either a "T" or a no-call.

Iow, if you have illegal contact, you do <b>not</b> have a flop. On a play like this, you also judge whether that contact was illegal or not by using the other rules in the book, or by following the direction of case book plays like the one cited previously.

Never call anything that you can't explain or justify.

Are you calling a T on this play?

Jurassic Referee Fri Feb 10, 2006 05:08pm

Quote:

Originally posted by icallfouls
[/B]
Are you calling a T on this play?
[/B][/QUOTE]Going back to the original post that started this thread, if a player "flops" after receiving "multiple warnings" not to, then yup, I'd sureasheck call the "T". I probably wouldn't wait for any "multiple warnings" either; I personally don't believe in <b>repeatedly</b> warning somebody not to repeat the same act without doing something about it.

And I'd give the flopper the second bye-bye "T" for swearing also.

I would try to hold the whistle until the lay-up was good or not too, if possible.

blindzebra Fri Feb 10, 2006 05:36pm

If A2 is a step away, he's shooting and continuous motion allows that shot to count, regardless of when the whistle went off for the T for swearing. The rule says foul and does not specify contact.;)

Now if you are double dipping the flopper, then you need to hold that whistle until the shot is released.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1