The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2006, 09:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wherever the Army sends me this year
Posts: 267
Boys varsity game last night. Team A is leading by 5 with 1.0 seconds left. Team B has a throw-in at the center line. I administer the throw and look at the clock prior to giving the ball to the thrower so I know the exact score. They inbound the ball to the corner and A1 dribbles once and throws a desperation three from the deep corner. Here comes my mistake: the ball left his hand about a 1/2 second after the buzzer but, knowing it's a 5 point lead I signal three as the ball drops from about 10 feet above the hoop right through, nothing but net. I turn to leave the court and Team A coach (who just won by 2) is pointing at me and saying "that's terrible, there is no way that was good". He's getting pretty loud about it too. I turn and leave the floor hoping neither of my partners whack him and send B to the line for potential game tying free throws. No tech so A wins by 2. I still can't believe he got upset in the first place but next time the ball will be no good.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2006, 09:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
Why would you allow it? Just wipe it off and get out. Many times you are remembered by the last call you've made. That coach is now going to remember you as the guy who inorrectly called the last shot of the game. I just hope you never have him again in a real close ball game where the last shot will make a difference because you have lost credibility.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2006, 09:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wherever the Army sends me this year
Posts: 267
Snake,

Thanks. I Concur. I guess that's how we learn and get better. However, one thing I do try and do is not let past games affect my current game (I'm old enough to do that). If it happened again with this team in a close game I would call it honestly and not worry about the reaction of the coaches and fans.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 04, 2006, 12:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,188
I think saying he's lost credibility is pushing it. Yes, there was a mistake made, and it appears it would have been corrected had it really mattered. Yes, I think you go ahead and correct it, but if you decide it has no bearing on the game and choose not to open that bottle, that's OK too.

If the subject comes up, the explanation is simple: "I made a mistake in counting it, or in not overriding it, but decided it was pointless to correct after the game was over." A coach making a big deal about it is a real idiot, and I frankly wouldn't care the least bit what he thought. He's liable to bust your chops for doing something CORRECT.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 05, 2006, 03:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,078
The only time I've done that on purpose was a freshman or JV game where one team was gettting crushed...down by 30+ at the half. There was a shot at a buzzer to end one of the quarters that was released late....I counted it anyway...everyone was so excited that it even went in. Not a word of complaint from anyone. I would not consider doing it in anything less than a blowout in a lower level game.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1