The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2006, 05:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
Back to the freethrow not attempted and how to handle the play that occurrs issue.
A1 has two free-throws coming, after the first B1 takes ball out of the net and throws outlet to a teammate. Other players do not participate at first then think they missed something and start participating. Official blows whistle and brings the miscreants back. What do you do with the second free throw. (Official knows the whole time what is going on.) However the clock operator doesn't and started the clock.

The rule seems to indicate the official has to clear the line and resume at poi even there was no official error.

I don't like what I am understanding and hope I am wrong.
"The ball remains in play", how long is that. A team might shoot a half courtshot and take just three seconds. In two or one a team can get the rebound. What and how long is remains in play.

Doesn't the rule give the power in this situation to the clock operator?

[Edited by SamIAm on Feb 3rd, 2006 at 05:37 PM]
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1