The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 01, 2006, 11:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Re: Re: Thanks for the input....

Quote:
Originally posted by M&M Guy
Quote:
Originally posted by JTRICE
Kajun ref in Texas is right.

Rule 9 Section 2 Article 11 says "The opponent of the thrower shall not have any part of his person through the inbounds side of the throw-in boundary plane...."

The penalty says "The first violation of the throw-in boundary plane by an opponent of the thrower shall result in a team warning for delay...."

So.... it is a violation.... and the ball is given back to the same team at the same place.....but because of the violation... by definition this is not an AP throw-in anymore.

Therefore the official (table) should not reverse the AP arrow.
So, let's say Team A scores, and Team B gets the endline throw-in. A1 reaches through, and the official calls the boundry plane violation. Does B lose the right to run the endline?
No. The throwing team retains the right to run the endline if the scoring team commits a violation or common foul before the throw-in ends and the succeeding throw-in would be on the endline. (NFHS 7-5-7)
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1