The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   I have a good test question..see if you can get this one (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/24655-i-have-good-test-question-see-if-you-can-get-one.html)

Back In The Saddle Wed Feb 01, 2006 11:38pm

Re: Re: Thanks for the input....
 
Quote:

Originally posted by M&M Guy
Quote:

Originally posted by JTRICE
Kajun ref in Texas is right.

Rule 9 Section 2 Article 11 says "The opponent of the thrower shall not have any part of his person through the inbounds side of the throw-in boundary plane...."

The penalty says "The first violation of the throw-in boundary plane by an opponent of the thrower shall result in a team warning for delay...."

So.... it is a violation.... and the ball is given back to the same team at the same place.....but because of the violation... by definition this is not an AP throw-in anymore.

Therefore the official (table) should not reverse the AP arrow.

So, let's say Team A scores, and Team B gets the endline throw-in. A1 reaches through, and the official calls the boundry plane violation. Does B lose the right to run the endline?

No. The throwing team retains the right to run the endline if the scoring team commits a violation or common foul before the throw-in ends and the succeeding throw-in would be on the endline. (NFHS 7-5-7)

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Feb 02, 2006 10:17am

Quote:

Originally posted by JTRICE
Held ball.
Possession arrow is pointing toward Team A's basket.
Official hands the ball to A1 for the throw-in.
B1 reaches across the end-line as he is trying to defend the throw-in.
Official blows whistle and warns Team B for crossing the vertical plane on the throw-in. The warning is recorded in the score book.
Official starts the throw-in again.
Throw-in is completed.

Official does NOT change the Possession arrow.
Is the official correct?


Nobody has given me a rules reference as to why the official was wrong for not reversing the AP Arrow.

MTD, Sr.

Time2Ref Thu Feb 02, 2006 09:06pm

That is because they can't.
You got it right, Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. in your first post when you sited NFHS rule 9.2.11.

You stated correctly:
"Team A's original AP throw-in never ended so it does not lose the AP Arrow."
You didn't reference the rule covering that. That rule is:

6.4.4...The direction of the possesion arrow is reversed immediately after an alternating possesion throw-in ends or when the throw-in team violates.

(And as I learned in the other post):
4.42.5...The throw-in ends when the passed ball touches, or is touched by, an inbounds player other than the thrower.

Therefore, as you stated, the AP throw-in never ended. (ball was never passed. And never touched an inbounds player) Instead the violation occured.(not by the throw-in team)

And as Kajun Ref N Texas correctly stated
"So.... it is a violation.... and the ball is given back to the same team at the same place.....but because of the violation... by definition this is not an AP throw-in anymore."

(And that violation is addressed at the bottom of 9.2.):

Penalty: (Section 2) The ball becomes dead when the violation or technical foul occurs. Following a violation, the ball is awarded to the opponets for a throw-in at the original throw-in spot.

Team B violated. The penalty for the violation was that Team A was AWARDED a throw-in, not an AP throw-in.
(Yes, they the do receive the warning as stated in 9.2.11, Penalties: (Art.11) 1. The first violation....)

No change of AP arrow.

[Edited by Time2Ref on Feb 3rd, 2006 at 07:17 AM]


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1