The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 30, 2006, 03:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 21
We all know that if the clock does NOT start then we can use a silent count and declare the game over when we reach zero.

But.......what if the clock starts too early.

Example: I had a game where there was 0.4 seconds left in the first quarter. Out of bounds throw-in. Well, just before the ball got to the player who was to shoot the last shot.....the horn goes off. The player then continued to shoot and missed the shot.

I have asked many people and the answers I get are either 1- stop the game and start the throw-in again or 2- If the basket goes in, and I think he would have gotten the shot off in time, count the basket.....ie. the horn does NOT cause the ball to become dead.

What are the feelings about this on this board?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 30, 2006, 03:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Reset to .4 and administer the throw-in again, if it's missed.

Count if you think it was released in time.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 30, 2006, 07:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 271
tough call

How could one determine that a shot was released within .4 seconds? A tip maybe, but a shot? I would reset the clock.
__________________
All of us learn to write in the second grade. Most of us go on to greater things.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 30, 2006, 07:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
i thought

.6 was needed for catch and shoot?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 30, 2006, 08:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Send a message via AIM to Back In The Saddle Send a message via MSN to Back In The Saddle Send a message via Yahoo to Back In The Saddle
Re: i thought

Quote:
Originally posted by deecee
.6 was needed for catch and shoot?
NFHS rules: ART. 5 . . . When play is resumed with a throw-in or free throw and three-tenths (.3) of a second or less remains on the clock, no field goal may be scored if the ball is caught before the try for goal. In this situation a tap could score.

NOTE: This rule does not apply if the clock does not display tenths of a second.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1