The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 25, 2006, 02:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 81
I'm sorry if this has been covered already.

If A has the ball and B unintentionally steps on his/her foot to which prevents A from starting or continuing a dribble, what do you got? Is this a hold or nothing?

In my case there was a clear defensive advantage because A's foot stuck to the floor and the ball went bouncing away. I called and sold a hold and nobody complained (although this was rec ball where they all belong in the NBA).

But by rule is this correct?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 25, 2006, 03:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
If I thought it was intentional, I would whistle it. Maybe even whistle it as an intentional foul. But if it was simply incidental, no, I wouldn't call it.

Several years ago, this particular kid that I officiated several times had a habit of sticking his foot out to trip a player driving. Simultaneously, he would look up at the shot. After a couple of times, I realized he was doing it intetnionally and I nailed him for it. He wouldn't stop, so I wanred the coach what was happening. Next time = intentional foul.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 25, 2006, 03:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Beaver, PA
Posts: 481
In this case I would look at advantage/disadvantage. If I felt the offense would lose the ball, I would call the foul. If the offense was able to "play through" without much of a disadvantage, then I would let it go. Yes, it was accidental, but most times fouls are an accident by the defense.
__________________
I only wanna know ...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 25, 2006, 03:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,445
Quote:
Originally posted by LepTalBldgs
I'm sorry if this has been covered already.

If A has the ball and B unintentionally steps on his/her foot to which prevents A from starting or continuing a dribble, what do you got? Is this a hold or nothing?

In my case there was a clear defensive advantage because A's foot stuck to the floor and the ball went bouncing away. I called and sold a hold and nobody complained (although this was rec ball where they all belong in the NBA).

But by rule is this correct?
There's often "unintentional contact" that is judged a foul. As I envision the play described, this is one of those instances, alhtough I might signal block.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 26, 2006, 12:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 1,955
I used to see a team whose coach taught his guys to step on the opposing player's foot when guarding on throw ins, etc. He got his team a lot of cheap fouls for it.
__________________
That's my whistle -- and I'm sticking to it!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 26, 2006, 09:26am
MABO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MB, Canada
Posts: 796
This was a tactic I was taught way back in the day for jump ball. As the toss goes up you step forward onto the opponents foot, he cant jump in the air and it gives you a second or two advantage. Not to mention a bit of a lift off his foot. Worked sometimes sometimes it didn't. It would sometimes get called as a violation for stepping across the line but never a foul.
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!"

All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 26, 2006, 10:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 57
What if A1 steps on B1's foot causing A1 to travel? Do you call the travel or foul on B1 for tripping?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 26, 2006, 11:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Beaver, PA
Posts: 481
Quote:
Originally posted by ctpfive
What if A1 steps on B1's foot causing A1 to travel? Do you call the travel or foul on B1 for tripping?
You are saying an obvious violation occurred. I am assuming a "no call" on the play is NOT an option.

It is not quite that simple. Was B1 stationary? If so, A1 has the responsibility and a travel will be called.

Was the step incidental to B1 playing good defense in Legal Guarding Position (LGP)? If so, then A1 traveled.

If B1 does not have LGP and is moving, then advantage the defense gained the advantage and B1 will be whistled for the foul.
__________________
I only wanna know ...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1