The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 25, 2006, 09:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,158
Girls Frosh, Jump Ball, Arrow Team A. Team B player has a lil hissy fit at opposing player and partner T's her up. We shoot em and Team A throws in at the Division Line and we have another Jump Ball. Partner says Team B, I say Team A . I read here "if you don't use you don't lose it" in regards to the AP arrow.

What do you say ?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 25, 2006, 09:33am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Team A's AP.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 25, 2006, 09:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Team A has the arrow.

You then have a held ball.

This is the first held ball of the game.

Why is it difficult to understand that A gets the ball since the arrow is pointed at A's basket?
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 25, 2006, 11:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 58
The reason being that "A" never had a chance to use their AP throw in due to the T being called prior to that throw in, is that right?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 25, 2006, 11:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 292
Arrow is not reversed until the throw in ends. IE is released by the thrower or the thrower commits a violation. So arrow stays at A's basket.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 25, 2006, 12:02pm
MABO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MB, Canada
Posts: 796
How would the technical fit into this then. I read this as the game is underway and there is a held ball. Arrow favors team A. Then prior to the throw in tech is called on B. 2 shots and POI which would be throw in for A?

Is this not the AP throw in now? I am getting all confused and probably making it more difficult then it needs be.
Next AP would then go to B, I thought.
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!"

All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 25, 2006, 12:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,158
Smoker

I believe when there is a T the ball is taken out at the division line. POI is for double fouls, double t's ....

Yes the game is underway. This was not the opening jump. Hope that clears it up.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 25, 2006, 12:16pm
MABO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MB, Canada
Posts: 796
Just so its clear, NCAA rules state a technical foul for unsporting conduct by a player is 2 shots and the ball put back in play at POI.
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!"

All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 25, 2006, 12:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,158
Smoker

I am referencing HS ball. So for HS ball I think I got it right and where to put the ball in play. For NCAA I will take your word cause I don't know.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 25, 2006, 01:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 271
According to your scenario

it is As ball for throwin. They did not lose their AP due to the technical. Shoot the T. AP stayed with A until the next possession change. My question remains: why the POI for throwin? Aren't all Ts throw in at half court line? If not, on what Ts are they POI vs Half court throw in?
__________________
All of us learn to write in the second grade. Most of us go on to greater things.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 25, 2006, 01:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,448
Re: According to your scenario

Quote:
Originally posted by lmeadski
it is As ball for throwin. They did not lose their AP due to the technical. Shoot the T. AP stayed with A until the next possession change. My question remains: why the POI for throwin? Aren't all Ts throw in at half court line? If not, on what Ts are they POI vs Half court throw in?
The responses discussing "POI on Ts" were for NCAA rules.

The responses discussing "no throw-in for the held ball; throw-in for the T at the division line; don't change the arrow" were for FED.

Hope it's clear, now.

Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 25, 2006, 02:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Re: Smoker

Quote:
Originally posted by Chess Ref
I believe when there is a T the ball is taken out at the division line. POI is for double fouls, double t's ....

Yes the game is underway. This was not the opening jump. Hope that clears it up.
You stated, "Girls Frosh, Jump Ball, Arrow Team A."

The only jump ball is at the beginning of the game.

Please use the term held ball so as to not confuse things.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 26, 2006, 12:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Southern Pines, NC
Posts: 88
Talking Hissy Fit

I was thinking this was a term that only a southerner would understand. I must be wrong.
__________________
NC Ump7
Go Heels!!!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 26, 2006, 01:21am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Re: Hissy Fit

Quote:
Originally posted by ncump7
I was thinking this was a term that only a southerner would understand. I must be wrong.
10-99 A player who has a hissy fit is charged with a flagrant technical foul.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 26, 2006, 08:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N.D.
Posts: 1,829
All fits, whether hissy or not are T's.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1